Related Sites:     ISRS   |   AAOE   |   EyeSmart   |   EyeCare America   |   Academy Foundation   |   EyeWiki
Find an Eye M.D.     About     Newsroom     Help
About the Academy
Artemis Award

2015 Nominations
Nominations for the 2015 Artemis Award are now open. Complete the nomination form (PDF 200KB) and submit by Feb. 9.

2014 Recipient
The Academy’s Board of Trustees and Senior Ophthalmologist Committee is proud to announce the inaugural 2014 recipient of the Artemis Award: John M. Cropsey, MD; nominated by Wills Eye Institute.

Cropsey head shot web2014 Artemis Award winner John Cropsey

About the Award
First awarded in 2014, the Artemis Award recognizes a young ophthalmologist Academy member who has demonstrated caring and service of an exemplary degree to his/ her patients. The Greek goddess Artemis was the protector and nurturer of the vulnerable and suffering. The Artemis Award is intended to acknowledge behavior above and beyond what is required or expected. Examples of such contributions include outreach to seniors; focused efforts to address health care disparities; initiation of educational programs geared to patients; or design of community-based programs which emphasize compassion and quality care. Such actions are not limited geographically.

The presentation of the Artemis Award takes place at the Young Ophthalmologist Program held in conjunction with the Academy’s annual meeting.

Selection Process
The Academy’s Senior Ophthalmologist Committee will review all nominations received by state, subspecialty or specialized interest societies and/or department chairs and program directors. The committee will employ a selection process which will consider the following:

  • Did the individual conceive of this project him/herself?
  • What individual effort was involved?
  • How much time did this require?
  • What difficulties were inherent/ encountered?
  • Were the efforts effective? Sustainable?

Questions? Contact Neeshah Azam at