Related Sites:     ISRS   |   AAOE   |   EyeSmart   |   EyeCare America   |   Academy Foundation   |   EyeWiki
Find an Eye M.D.     About     Newsroom     Help
About the Academy
Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education

The Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education was established through the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO) and private funds, and is given to a program director dedicated to the principles and significance of residency education.

The presentation of the Straatsma Award takes place during the Program Director Forum of the Annual Meeting. The Board of Trustees of both the Academy and AUPO are proud to announce the 2013 recipient:

Dr  Lauer_Straatsma

Andreas K. Lauer, MD
Dr. Lauer is vice-chair for education and ophthalmology residency program director as well as chief of the vitreoretinal division at Casey Eye Institute, Oregon Health and Science University. Dr Lauer is the 11th recipient of this award for his commitment to residency training in ophthalmology.



Previous awardees:

2012 - Thomas A. Oetting, MD
2011 - Richard A. Harper, MD
2010 - Maria M. Aaron, MD
2009 - Mark S. Juzych, MD
2008 - Paul D. Langer, MD
2007 - J. P. Dunn Jr., MD
2006 - Karl C. Golnik, MD, MEd
2005 - Anthony C. Arnold, MD
2004 - Nicholas J. Volpe, MD
2003 - Alfredo A. Sadun, MD, PhD