American Academy of Ophthalmology Web Site:
Original URL:

Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education

The Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education was established through the American Academy of Ophthalmology, the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology and private funds, and is given to a program director dedicated to the principles and significance of residency education.

The presentation of the Straatsma Award takes place during the Program Director Forum of the annual meeting. The Board of Trustees of both the Academy and AUPO are proud to announce the 2014 recipient:

Wayman portrait2


Laura L. Wayman, MD
Dr. Wayman is the director of resident education and the department's vice chair for education at the Vanderbilt Eye Institute, Vanderbilt University Medical Center. Dr. Wayman is the 12th recipient of this award for her commitment to residency training in ophthalmology.


Previous awardees:

2013- Andreas K. Lauer, MD
2012 - Thomas A. Oetting, MD
2011 - Richard A. Harper, MD
2010 - Maria M. Aaron, MD
2009 - Mark S. Juzych, MD
2008 - Paul D. Langer, MD
2007 - J. P. Dunn Jr., MD
2006 - Karl C. Golnik, MD, MEd
2005 - Anthony C. Arnold, MD
2004 - Nicholas J. Volpe, MD
2003 - Alfredo A. Sadun, MD, PhD