Related Sites:     ISRS   |   AAOE   |   EyeSmart   |   EyeCare America   |   Academy Foundation   |   EyeWiki
Find an Eye M.D.     About     Newsroom     Help
About the Academy
Past President

C P Wilkinson MDC.P. Wilkinson, MD

Dr. Wilkinson is the past president of the Academy (he served as president in 2007). He was a trustee-at-large on the Academy‚Äôs Board from 1998 to 2001. He is a member of the EyeCare America Steering Committee and chairman of its diabetes program. Prior roles at the Academy include chairmanship of the Preferred Practice Patterns (PPP) Retina Panel from 1992 to 2001, membership on the editorial board for Focal Points from 1983 to 1988 and associate secretary for that program from 1988 to 1992. He has received the Academy's Honor, Senior Honor and Life Achievement Honor Awards.

Dr. Wilkinson received his medical degree from Johns Hopkins University and was an intern and resident at Johns Hopkins Hospital. He then received vitreoretinal fellowship training at the University of Miami and subsequently joined the faculty at the University of Oklahoma, where he was a clinical professor of ophthalmology for more than 15 years. He moved to Baltimore in 1992 and has served as chairman of the department of ophthalmology at the Greater Baltimore Medical Center and as a professor in the Johns Hopkins University department of ophthalmology since then.

Dr. Wilkinson has served as chairman of the American Board of Ophthalmology (ABO) and was an ABO director for eight years. He has served as a member and subsequent chairman of the Food and Drug Administration Ophthalmic Devices Panel. He is a member of the American University Professors of Ophthalmology, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and several specialty and subspecialty societies. He is a prior winner of the Heed Foundation Award. His research interests include retinal detachment, diabetic retinopathy and macular degeneration. He has published extensively on a variety of vitreoretinal topics.