American Academy of Ophthalmology Web Site:
Original URL:

Past President

Susan H. Day, MDSusan H. Day, MD

Dr. Day served on the Academy’s Board of Trustees from 1998 to 2001 as Trustee-at-Large and as President in 2005. Among the many positions Dr. Day has held with the Academy are: chair of the Ethics committee from 1996 to 2000 and Membership Advisory committee from 2000 to current; member of the Instruction Advisory committee; Professional Liaison committee; Interspecialty committee; Allied Health committee; and Preferred Practice Patterns committee.

Dr. Day received her medical degree from Louisiana State University in 1975 and completed her residency at California Pacific Medical Center, an internship at Letterman Army Hospital and her fellowship at the Hospital for Sick Children in London.

Dr. Day has served on several board of directors or committees for the American Board of Ophthalmology, AAPOS, Women in Ophthalmology, OMIC, American Academy of Pediatrics (division of ophthalmology), ACGME/RRC, Smith-Kettlewell Eye Research Institute and Pacific Vision Foundation. She has authored more than 40 peer-reviewed articles and papers. She is also a member of the American Ophthalmological Society, Association of University Professors in Ophthalmology and the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology.

Dr. Day is currently chair and program director for the Department of Ophthalmology at California Pacific Medical Center, as well as a pediatric ophthalmologist in private practice.