Related Sites:     ISRS   |   AAOE   |   EyeSmart   |   EyeCare America   |   Academy Foundation   |   EyeWiki
Find an Eye M.D.     About     Newsroom     Help
About the Academy
Secretary for Member Services

Tamara Fountain, MDTamara R. Fountain, MD

Dr. Fountain is professor of ophthalmology at Rush University Medical Center and maintains a private practice in oculofacial plastics in Chicago's northern suburbs. She has been recognized by her peers as a "best ophthalmologist" and named to America's "Top Ophthalmologists" for the past several years.

She graduated with a B.A. from Stanford University and an M.D. from Harvard Medical School. After completing a residency in ophthalmology at Johns Hopkins' Wilmer Eye Institute, she pursued fellowship training in oculoplastic surgery at Doheny Eye Institute/University of Southern California.

Dr. Fountain is the Academy's secretary for member services. Past Academy service includes membership on the Young Ophthalmologist, Ethics and Health Policy Committees. She was part of the inaugural class of the Leadership Development Program and has received the Academy's Secretariat and Senior Achievement Awards. Dr. Fountain served on the Academy's Board of Trustees as trustee-at-large from 2005-2008 and completed a term on the EyeNet editorial advisory board in 2012. As a media spokesperson for the communication division, she has had the opportunity to represent the Academy in various print, radio and television interviews.

Dr. Fountain has served more than 12 years as a committee member and board director for the Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company. She currently serves on the executive committee and is the chair of the board. Dr. Fountain is active in the American Society of Ophthalmic Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, having served as executive secretary and chair of both the thesis and oral exam committees. She recently received the Orkan Stasior Leadership Award for service to the society. She is a past president of the Illinois Association of Ophthalmology and has been involved in programming for both Women in Ophthalmology and the Chicago Ophthalmological Society.