Skip Navigation

International Society of Refractive Surgery Honors Surgeons for their Contributions and Dedication

November 2012

SAN FRANCISCO – The International Society of Refractive Surgery (ISRS), a partner of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), honored nine ophthalmologists at the 2012 ISRS Award and Refractive Surgery Subspecialty Day Faculty Reception on 9 November in Chicago.

The nine individuals were selected for the awards based on their special contributions to the society, as well as their dedication to ophthalmology.

The 2012 Awardees included:

  • Zoltan Z. Nagy, MD, professor at the Department of Ophthalmology, Semmelweis University, Budapest, Hungary (Casebeer Award)
  • Dan Reinstein, MD, medical director of the London Vision Clinic (Kritzinger Memorial Award)
  • Noel Alpins, MD, FACS, medical director of NewVision Clinics, Melbourne (Lans Distinguished Award)
  • Alaa ElDanasoury, MD, FRCSed, chief medical officer and director of the Cornea and Refractive Surgery Units of the Magrabi Hospitals and Centers in the Middle East (Founders’ Award)
  • Jorge L. Alió, MD, PhD, professor and chairman of ophthalmology at the Miguel Hernández University, Alicante, Spain (Lifetime Achievement Award)
  • Günther Grabner, MD, director and full professor at the Eye Clinic of the Paracelsus Medical University in Salzburg (José I. Barraquer Lecture and Award)
  • Marcony R. Santhiago, MD, PhD, professor and head of the cataract and refractive surgery department at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (21st Annual Richard C. Troutman MD DSC (HON) $5,000 Prize)
  • David F. Chang, MD, widely recognized as one of the top cataract surgeons in the world, Los Altos, California (Presidential Recognition Award)
  • Roger F. Steinert, MD, chair of the department and director of the Gavin Herbert Eye Institute at the University of California, Irvine (Presidential Recognition Award)

ISRS Award descriptions are as follows:

  • Casebeer Award: The Casebeer Award recognizes the outstanding contribution to the Research and Development of Refractive Surgery.
  • Kritzinger Memorial Award: The Kritzinger Memorial Award honors the scientific and clinical accomplishments of Michael Kritzinger, MD who died tragically in the year 2000 in a helicopter crash. Each year, a recipient is chosen who embodies the clinical, educational, and investigative qualities of Dr. Kritzinger to advance the international practice of refractive surgery.
  • 21st Annual Richard C. Troutman MD DSC (HON) $5,000 Prize: The Troutman Prize recognizes the scientific merit of a young author publishing in the Journal of Refractive Surgery and includes a $5,000 honorarium from the Troutman Endowment.
  • Founders’ Award: The Founders’ Award recognizes the vision and spirit of the Society’s founders by honoring an ISRS member who has made extraordinary contributions to the growth and advancement of the Society and its mission.
  • Jose I. Barraquer Award: The Barraquer Award is given to one individual annually in recognition of valuable contributions in the field of refractive surgery. The Barraquer Lecture and Award honors a physician who has made significant contributions in the field of refractive surgery during his or her career. This individual exemplifies the character and scientific dedication of Jose I. Barraquer, MD-one of the founding fathers of refractive surgery.
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: The Lifetime Achievement Award honors an ISRS member who has made significant and internationally recognized contributions to the advancement of refractive surgery over his or her career.
  • Lans Distinguished Award: The Lans Distinguished Award honors Leedert J. Lans, a young innovative researcher who defined the basics of refractive surgery by working to improve the techniques used to correct astigmatism. Given annually, the award criteria requires that the individual be an innovative researcher in the field of refractive surgery and not be a prior Barraquer Award recipient.
  • Presidential Award: The President of the ISRS recognizes and honors these individuals with a special award for their contribution to the field of refractive surgery and to the Society.



About the International Society of Refractive Surgery
The International Society of Refractive Surgery (ISRS), a partner of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, is the leading worldwide organization dedicated to refractive, cornea, cataract and lens-based education and solutions. Members are connected to the world’s leading refractive surgeons from over 80 countries through meetings, publications and online educational tools. To learn more, visit

Pop needs to be configured.