American Academy of Ophthalmology Web Site:
Original URL:

2014 Selection Committees

On this page:

Annual Meeting Program Committee
The Annual Meeting Program Committee is responsible for the scientific program including instruction courses, symposia and the Spotlight on Cataracts session.

Secretary for Annual Meeting
Jonathan B. Rubenstein, MD

Associate Secretary for the Annual Meeting Program
Cynthia Mattox, MD, FACS

Subcommittee for: Cataract
William J. Fishkind, MD

Subcommittee Members
Nicole R. Fram, MD
Mitchell P. Weikert, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
George Beiko, MD
Gary J. Foster, MD
Colleen P. Halfpenny, MD
Stephen H. Johnson, MD
Kevin M. Miller, MD

Subcommittee for: Cornea, External Disease
Kathryn A. Colby, MD, PhD

Subcommittee Members
Bennie H. Jeng, MD
Shahzad I. Mian, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
Jessica B. Ciralsky, MD
Darren G. Gregory, MD
Christina R. Prescott, MD
Vincenzo Sarnicola MD
Sonal S. Tuli, MBBS

Subcommittee for: Glaucoma
Molly Walsh, MD

Subcommittee Members
Steven J. Gedde, MD
Malik Y. Kahook, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
Husam Ansari, MD, PhD
Martha Motuz Leen, MD
Steven L. Mansberger, MD, MPH
Brian C. Samuels, MD, PhD
Thasarat S. Vajaranant, MD

Subcommittee for: Neuro-Ophthalmology, Computers/Information Technology, Ethics, General Medical Care, Global Ophthalmology, Electronic Health Records, Medical Education, Ophthalmic History and Vision Rehabilitation
Jacqueline A. Leavitt, MD

Subcommittee Members
Sophia Mihe Chung, MD
Michael S. Lee, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
Madhu R. Agarwal, MD
John B. Kerrison, MD
Howard D. Pomeranz, MD
Kenneth S. Shindler, MD, PhD
Prem S. Subramanian, MD, PhD

Subcommittee for: Ocular Tumors, Pathology and Orbit, Lacrimal Plastic Surgery
Don O. Kikkawa, MD

Subcommittee Members
Julian D. Perry, MD
Matthew W. Wilson, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
Jonathan W. Kim, MD
Bobby S. Korn, MD, PhD, FACS
Jill S. Melicher Larson, MD
Pete Setabutr, MD
Erin M. Shriver, MD

Subcommittee for: Pediatric Ophthalmology, Strabismus
Terri L. Young, MD

Subcommittee Members
Hilda Capo, MD
Martha P. Schatz, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
Arlene V. Drack, MD
Judith E. Gurland, MD
Anthony Pruett Johnson, MD, FACS
Natalie C. Kerr, MD
Scott R. Lambert, MD

Subcommittee for: Refractive Surgery and Optics, Refraction Contact Lenses
Sonia H. Yoo, MD

Subcommittee Members
William B. Trattler, MD
John Allan Vukich, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
David A. Goldman, MD
Daniel F. Goodman, MD, FACS
George D. Kymionis, MD, PhD
Rajesh K. Rajpal, MD
Elizabeth Yeu, MD

Subcommittee for: Retina, Vitreous and Intraocular Inflammation, Uveitis
Janet Louise Davis, MD

Subcommittee Members
Srinivas R. Sadda, MD
Sharon D. Solomon, MD

Subcommittee Reviewers
Ron Afshari Adelman, MD, MPH
J. Fernando Arevalo, MD
Alay S. Banker, MD
Sharon Fekrat, MD
Christina J. Flaxel, MD
Colin A. McCannel, MD
Andrew A. Moshfeghi, MD, MBA
Dante Pieramici, MD
Shlomit Schaal, MD, PhD
Homayoun Tabandeh, MD, MS, FRCP, FRCOphth

Special Projects Committee
The Special Projects Committee is responsible for developing programs to complement those that are submitted by members or societies.  

Associate Secretary
Maria M. Aaron, MD

Committee Members
Jill S. Melicher Larson, MD
Scott C. Oliver, MD
Florentino E. Palmon, MD
Douglas J. Rhee, MD
Nicholas J. Volpe, MD
Tammy L. Yanovitch, MD

Skills Transfer Advisory Committee
The Skills Transfer Advisory Committee is responsible for selecting the Skills Transfer courses and labs.

Associate Secretary
Thomas W. Samuelson, MD

Advisory Committee
Susan R. Carter, MD
Jack A. Cohen, MD, FACS
William Barry Lee, MD
Kevin M. Miller, MD
Nathan M. Radcliffe, MD
David D. Verdier, MD