Related Sites:     ISRS   |   AAOE   |   EyeSmart   |   EyeCare America   |   Academy Foundation   |   EyeWiki
Find an Eye M.D.     About     Newsroom     Help
Related Organizations
Leadership Development Program

Program Participants
About the Program
Program Goals
Corporate Support
This Year's Program
Program Recognition
Nomination Submissions
Additional Information

Program Participants
The Academy congratulates the following Eye M.D.s who have been selected to participate in the Leadership Development Program Class of 2015 (LDP XVII):

Catoira_Yara Yara P. Catoira-Boyle, MD
Indianapolis, Ind.
Indiana Academy of Ophthalmology
Collins_Atif Atif B.D. Collins, MD
Cleveland, Ohio
National Medical Association, Ophthalmology Section 
Cooper_Geoffrey Geoffrey G. Cooper, MD, FACS
Richmond, Va.
Virginia Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
Guess_Scott Scott M. Guess, MD
Missoula, Mont.
Montana Academy of Ophthalmology
Howard_James James G. Howard, MD
Salt Lake City, Utah
Utah Ophthalmology Society
Jabbur_Nada Nada S. Jabbur, MD
Beirut, Lebanon
Lebanese Ophthalmological Society
Law_Janice Janice C. Law, MD
Nashville, Tenn.
Tennessee Academy of Ophthalmology
Lieberman_Rachel Rachel A. Lieberman, MD
Las Vegas, Nev.
Society of Military Ophthalmologists
Orge_Faruk Faruk H. Orge, MD
Cleveland, Ohio
American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus
Potter_Heather Heather A.D. Potter, MD
Madison, Wis.
American Academy of Ophthalmic Oncologists and Pathologists
Rhodes_Lindsay Lindsay A. Rhodes, MD
Birmingham, Ala.
Alabama Academy of Ophthalmology
Scott_Michael Michael H. Scott, MD
Dubuque, Iowa
Iowa Academy of Ophthalmology
Seibold_Leonard Leonard K. Siebold, MD
Aurora, Colo.
Colorado Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
Silbert_David David I. Silbert, MD, FAAP
Lancaster, Pa.
American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Ophthalmology /
Pennsylvania Academy of Ophthalmology
Sun_Grace Grace Sun, MD
New York, N.Y.
New York State Ophthalmological Society
Tigani_Michael Michael C. Tigani, MD
McLean, Va.
Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company
Vollman_David David E. Vollman, MD, MBA
St. Louis, Mo.
Missouri Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons
Williams_Pamela Pamela E. Williams, MD
Baton Rouge, La.
Louisiana Ophthalmology Association


About the Program
Each spring, state, subspecialty and specialized interest ophthalmology societies are invited to nominate an Eye M.D. member to participate in the program. About 18 to 20 program participants are selected from the nominations submitted. Over the course of their year in the program, participants attend four education sessions that address a variety of leadership, advocacy and association governance topics.

Program Goals
The goals of the Academy's Leadership Development Program include:

  • Identifying ophthalmologists with the potential to become leaders in ophthalmology societies.
  • Providing orientation and skill development to developing leaders in order to promote ophthalmology locally and nationally.
  • Facilitating the promotion of program graduates into leadership positions both locally and nationally.


Corporate Support
Since the program's inception, the Academy has had the support of ophthalmic industry in implementing the Leadership Development Program. The Academy recognizes industry partners Allergan and Genentech, as well as  the Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company (OMIC) for their collaboration in developing future leaders in ophthalmology.

This Year's Program
LDPXVII participants began the Leadership Development Program with an orientation session in Chicago in conjunction with AAO 2014, the Academy's annual meeting. They next visited the Academy's San Francisco headquarters and participated in an interactive two-and-a-half day meeting in January 2015. A session in April 2015 at the Academy's Mid-Year Forum in Washington, D.C., will focus on developing participants' advocacy skills. Participants will graduate at a final session atAAO 2015 in Las Vegas.

During its 2013 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, the Academy sponsored a global LDP alumni reception for participants and graduates of the Academy's Leadership Development Program, as well as participants and graduates of the national and supranational LDP programs from Latin America, Europe, the Middle East/Africa, Asia and India.


Program Recognition
Each year the Academy president requests approval by the Board of Trustees of his/her selection of honored guests to be formally recognized at the Opening Session of the Academy's Annual Meeting. In 2013, Academy President Paul Sternberg Jr., MD selected and the Board of Trustees approved the Academy's Leadership Development Program as the 2013 Special Recognition Award recipient. The Special Recognition Award is presented to an individual, group or organization for outstanding service in a specific effort or cause that improves the quality of eye care. Dr. Sternberg invited LDP participants and graduates to attend the Opening Session of the Academy's 2013 Annual Meeting in New Orleans as honored guests to receive the Special Recognition Award.

The Leadership Development Program was honored by the American Society of Association Executives (ASAE) as a trophy winner in its 2001 Gold Circle Awards program for excellence and innovation in association management, and was recognized in ASAE’s April 2002 edition of Association Management magazine.

Nomination Submissions
Each spring, the Leadership Development Program solicits nominations for the upcoming program year. State, subspecialty and specialized interest ophthalmic societies are invited to nominate a member who has demonstrated a commitment to his or her society and who has shown potential to become a leader of that organization. The Selection Committee began soliciting nominations for LDP XVIII, class of 2016, in March 2015.

Additional Information
For more information about the Academy's Leadership Development Program, see the online brochure (PDF 106KB), or contact Gail Schmidt, director of Ophthalmic Society Relations.