American Academy of Ophthalmology Web Site:
Original URL:

Releases Main Page
American Academy of Ophthalmology Announces Results for 2010 Board of Trustees Positions

01/04/2010   08:30:00 AM

SAN FRANCISCO – The American Academy of Ophthalmology (Academy) announced today its new members for the Board of Trustees, whose terms began Jan. 1, 2010. The Board of Trustees determines the future direction of the organization and allocates the resources necessary to accomplish those objectives. The Trustees help to drive the mission of the Academy, to advance the lifelong learning and professional interests of ophthalmologists (Eye M.D.s) and ensuring that the public can obtain the best possible eye care.

The following are the election of officers to the 2010 Board of Trustees:

President-Elect: Richard L. Abbott, MD
Dr. Abbott has spent almost 30 years serving as a volunteer on multiple Academy committees, including the past 12 years on the Committee of Secretaries and the Board of Trustees. He is the Thomas W. Boyden Health Sciences Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of California San Francisco and Research Associate at the Francis I. Proctor Foundation. He received his medical degree from The George Washington University School of Medicine and pursued his ophthalmology training with a residency at California Pacific Medical Center in San Francisco and a Fellowship in corneal and external diseases at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami.  Dr. Abbott received the Academy's Honor Award in 1984 and it’s Senior Honor Award in 1994. In 2006, he was awarded the Academy's Lifetime Achievement Award.  He is currently the Chairman of the Board of OMIC and is immediate past-president of the Pan American Association of Ophthalmology.

Senior Secretary for Clinical Education: Gregory L. Skuta, MD
Dr. Skuta has served on the Academy’s Board of Trustees since 2007 and on the Committee of Secretaries since 2001. He received his medical degree from the University of Illinois College of Medicine. Dr. Skuta completed an ophthalmology residency at the University of Wisconsin - Madison, where he was chief resident, and a glaucoma fellowship at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami. Currently, he is the President and CEO of the Dean McGee Eye Institute in Oklahoma City and Edward L. Gaylord Professor and Chair of the University of Oklahoma Department of Ophthalmology.  Dr. Skuta has contributed to more than 100 publications, book chapters and educational products and has a particular interest in wound healing and its modulation in glaucoma filtering surgery. He is a past president of the American Glaucoma Society and is a member of the editorial board for the Journal of Glaucoma.

Chair, The Council: Jean E. Ramsey, MD, MPH
Dr. Ramsey currently serves on the Academy's Board of Trustees as Council Vice Chair. She received her medical degree from Boston University School of Medicine and did her ophthalmology residency, chief residency and pediatric fellowship at New England Medical Center Hospital. She is Associate Professor of Ophthalmology and Pediatrics at Boston University School of Medicine and Assistant Dean for Alumni Affairs.  She specializes in pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus, and has a special interest in the development of pediatric vision screening programs and the legislative and regulatory issues related to vision screening.

Vice Chair, The Council: Russell N. Van Gelder, MD, PhD
Dr. Gelder is a uveitis specialist and clinician-scientist who practices in the Northwest. He received his medical degree from Stanford University School of Medicine and did his ophthalmology residency and fellowship at Washington University Medical School. He is currently the Boyd K. Bucey professor and Chair of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Washington as well as director of the UW Medicine Eye Institute, a 20-ophthalmologist multi-specialty group. In addition to serving on Council for the American Uveitis Society, he has served on numerous committees within the Academy including the BCSC, MOC, and nominating committees.

Trustee-at-Large: George B. Bartley, MD
Dr. Bartley is the Louis and Evelyn Krueger professor of ophthalmology at Mayo Clinic where he specializes in ophthalmic plastic and orbital surgery. He received his medical degree from Ohio State University, completed his ophthalmology residency at Mayo Clinic, and did his fellowship at Wright State University. Dr. Bartley has served as the chair of the department of ophthalmology at Mayo Clinic, Chief Executive Officer of Mayo Clinic Florida, Vice President of Mayo Clinic, a Director of the American Board of Ophthalmology, and Chair of the Council of the American Ophthalmological Society.


About the American Academy of Ophthalmology

The American Academy of Ophthalmology is the world's largest association of eye physicians and surgeons—Eye M.D.s—with more than 27,000 members worldwide.  Eye health care is provided by the three “O’s” – opticians, optometrists and ophthalmologists. It is the ophthalmologist, or Eye M.D., who can treat it all: eye diseases and injuries, and perform eye surgery. To find an Eye M.D. in your area, visit the Academy's Web site at


Please Note: Media relations staff are unable to answer inquiries from the general public. If you want to find an Eye M.D. (ophthalmologist) in your area, please use our Find an Eye M.D. feature.

Releases Main Page