Related Sites:     ISRS   |   AAOE   |   EyeSmart   |   EyeCare America   |   Academy Foundation   |   EyeWiki
Find an Eye M.D.     About     Newsroom     Help
Academy News Releases
Releases Main Page
American Academy of Ophthalmology Grants International Ophthalmologist Education Award

03/26/2010   12:17:28 PM

SAN FRANCISCO The American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) conferred  its International Ophthalmologists Education Award to 33 physicians in 2009. The International Ophthalmologist Education Award was developed to recognize AAO members practicing outside the United States who participate in continuing ophthalmic education through the AAO and report their activities.

To qualify, international members must have finished their residency training and complete 90 continuing medical education (CME) credits over a period of three years. Half the credits must be AAO-sponsored CME.

“The mission of the AAO is to promote lifelong learning for ophthalmologists, resulting in improved patient care,” said David W. Parke II, MD, executive vice president and CEO of the AAO. “We are very proud of our international members who have taken the mission to heart, and we feel it is equally important to recognize their efforts towards professional growth. We encourage all our international members – most of whom are already using AAO’s educational resources – to report their CME and allow us to acknowledge their efforts.”

The 2009 International Ophthalmologist Education Award recipients are:

  • Alfredo G. Kotlik, MD (Argentina)
  • Antonio Ferreras, MD (Spain)
  • Arnold I. Kravetz, MD (Canada)
  • Bruno M. Fontes, MD (Brazil)
  • Carlo De Conciliis, MD (Italy)
  • Colin S Tan, MBBS (Singapore)
  • Ernesto S. Yapur, MD (Argentina)
  • Francesco P. Bernardini, MD (Italy)
  • Giovanni Cardini, MD (Italy)
  • Gopal Lal Verma, MD (India)
  • Hazem A. El-Sabagh, MBBS (Saudi Arabia)
  • Jerman M. Alqahtani, MBBS (Saudi Arabia)
  • Juan Salinas, MD (United Kingdom)
  • Karen Salcedo, MD (Venezuela)
  • Konstadinos Chatzinikolas, MD (Greece)
  • Laurentino Biccas Neto, MD (Brazil)
  • Madhav Rao Kenja MD (United Arab Emirates)
  • Manuel Moriche Carretero, MD (Spain)
  • Marco Antonio C. Olytho Jr., MD (Brazil)
  • Mario Robert Ventresca, MD, FRCSC (Canada)
  • Massimo Busin, MD (Italy)
  • Matthias Christian Grieshaber, MD (Switzerland)
  • Mehdi Modarres, MD (Iran)
  • Miloslav B. Bozdech, MD (Canada)
  • Palaniswamy Sunderraj, MD (England)
  • Paul Aron Adler, MBBS (Australia)
  • Prasan M. Rao, MBBS, MS (United Arab Emirates)
  • Robert F. Stevenson, MD (Canada)
  • Sathish Srinivasan, MBBS, FRCSEd, FRCOphth (Scotland)
  • Sergio E. Echeverria, MD (Chile)
  • Tarun Sharma, MBBS (India)
  • Teodoro Mylonopoulos Caripdis, MD (Spain)
  • Vasiliki Flindri, MD (Greece)

Congratulations to the 2009 recipients and all of the recipients of the Education Award from years prior.

About the American Academy of Ophthalmology
The American Academy of Ophthalmology is the world's largest association of eye physicians and surgeons — Eye M.D.s — with more than 29,000 members worldwide.  Eye health care is provided by the three “O’s” – opticians, optometrists and ophthalmologists. It is the ophthalmologist, or Eye M.D., who can treat it all: eye diseases, infections and injuries, and perform eye surgery.



Please Note: Media relations staff are unable to answer inquiries from the general public. If you want to find an Eye M.D. (ophthalmologist) in your area, please use our Find an Eye M.D. feature.

Releases Main Page