• Glossary of New Terms

    MOC: Maintenance of Certification

    Ophthalmologists Board Certified after July 1, 1992. Developed according to standards established by the American Board of Medical Specialties, MOC is designed for practicing ophthalmologists to complete over a 10-year period. Other medical specialties are completing a similar process. Visit the ABO’s Web site for more detailed information.

    POC: Practicing Ophthalmologists Curriculum

    POC topics are developed in an easy-to-read outline format and organized by practice emphasis area (i.e., subspecialty). The POC comprises the most clinically relevant information a practicing ophthalmologist needs to know to remain certified. Download the POC. The POC also forms the basis for the Academy’s Maintenance of Certification products and services.

    PEA: Practice Emphasis Area

    The nine subspecialty areas and Comprehensive Ophthalmology, as defined by the ABO, that ophthalmologists can be tested on as part of the MOC process. In addition to Core Ophthalmic Knowledge (required), PEAs include:
    • Comprehensive Ophthalmology
    • Cataract/Anterior Segment
    • Cornea/External Disease
    • Glaucoma
    • Neuro-Ophthalmology and Orbit
    • Oculoplastics and Orbit
    • Pediatric Ophthalmology/Strabismus
    • Refractive Management/Intervention
    • Retina/Vitreous
    • Uveitis

    Core Ophthalmic Knowledge

    The fundamental ophthalmic knowledge every practicing ophthalmologist should know regardless of practice emphasis. All ophthalmologists participating in the MOC process will be required to be tested in Core.

    MOC Examinations

    The ABO’s MOC process to assess knowledge includes the DOCK and the PORT. For more information, visit the ABO’s Web site.
    • DOCK (Demonstration of Ophthalmic Cognitive Knowledge)
      This is a proctored, closed-book 150-item exam that will replace the take-home, open-book CREW examination beginning in September 2006. Administered at approximately 300 nationally distributed computer test centers, the DOCK consists of three 50-question modules, one in Core (required) and two in practice emphasis areas of your choice. You may select two modules from the same practice emphasis area (i.e. two glaucoma modules) or one module from two different practice emphasis areas (i.e. one glaucoma module and one comprehensive module.) However, there is currently only one module available for Refractive Management/Intervention and Uveitis.
    • PORT (Periodic Ophthalmic Review Test)
      Two 50-item, online self-review tests required by the ABO – one in Core Ophthalmic Knowledge and one in a practice emphasis area of your choice. Diplomates must complete two PORT examinations.

    Practice Performance Assessment

    Beginning in 2016, there will be an option for Diplomates to complete the Part 4 Performance Assessment:

    • Practice Improvement Modules (PIMs) - simplified PIMs available Spring 2016
      Practice Improvement Modules (PIMs) are self-directed online activities that require practicing ophthalmologists to review 30 patient records associated with a diagnosis or diagnoses that they wish to improve upon. PIMs assist ophthalmologists with the evaluation of their practice standards; identify areas for improvement through self-assessment and promote the reduction of gaps in quality of care through improved patient outcomes.