Skip to main content
  • Honoring Outstanding Individuals for Contributions to Our Profession

    Left to right: Russell N. Van Gelder, MD, PhD; Bruce E. Spivey, MD; and David W. Parke II, MD at the AAO 2015 awards ceremony. Dr. Spivey served as the executive vice president and chief executive officer of the Academy for 14 years and, most recently, as both the secretary general and president of the International Council of Ophthalmology for 20 years.

    During AAO 2015, the Academy honored dozens of our colleagues for distinguished service, outstanding humanitarian service, excellence in resident education and more.

    Bruce E. Spivey, MD, received the 2015 Laureate Recognition Award, the Academy’s highest honor. Dr. Spivey was recognized at the AAO 2015 opening session for his special achievements in ophthalmic education and in building and leading impactful ophthalmic organizations in the United States and around the globe.

    Stephen L. Beaty, MD, and Gary E. Fish, MD received the Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award for their charitable contributions to ophthalmology. Both men performed community service above and beyond the typical duties of an ophthalmologist.

    Jean E. Ramsey, MD, MPH received the 2015 Outstanding Advocate Award for her tireless advocacy related efforts on behalf of children, at both the state and federal levels.

    Wendy M. Hofman, MD, received the 2015 Artemis Award for serving, educating, and leading ophthalmology care in Gabon, West Africa. Young ophthalmologist Dr. Hofman started an ophthalmology residency program in the country.

    Michael W. Brennan, MD received the 2015 EnergEYES Award. Given as a surprise, the award honors an ophthalmologist whose exemplary leadership and mentorship energizes young ophthalmologists and motivates them to get involved.

    Wills Eye Hospital and its leadership, Julia A. Haller, MD, and Tara A. Uhler, MD. received the Commitment to Advocacy Award. The award was implemented in 2015 to honor a residency training department for outstanding support of the Academy’s Advocacy Ambassador Program. Dr. Uhler also won the Straatsma Award for outstanding resident education, presented by the Academy and the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology.