• Honoring Outstanding Individuals for Contributions to Our Profession    

    2016 Laureate Recognition Award
    Academy CEO David W. Parke II, MD, presented the 2016 Laureate Recognition Award to Matthew D. Davis, MD. We recognized Dr. Davis at the AAO 2016 opening session for his seminal contributions to ophthalmology. During his career, he established gold standards for conducting clinical studies that have had a major public health impact on blindness in the United States and around the world.

    During AAO 2016, the Academy honored many colleagues for distinguished service, outstanding humanitarian service, excellence in resident education and more.

    Paul S. Bernstein, MD, PhD, and Benjamin W. Roberts, MD, received the 2016 Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award for their charitable contributions to ophthalmology. Both performed community service above and beyond the typical duties of an ophthalmologist. 

    Paula Anne Newman-Casey, MD, received the 2016 Artemis Award for her dedication to serving the needs of the poor and underserved in metro Detroit. Dr. Newman-Casey spearheaded an initiative while in residency, which continues today, to provide free ophthalmic care to patients in the area.

    Jean E. Ramsey, MD, MPH, received the 2016 EnergEYES Award. The award honors an ophthalmologist whose exemplary leadership and mentorship energizes young ophthalmologists and motivates them to get involved.

    Donald J. Cinotti, MD, received the 2016 Outstanding Advocate Award for his tireless advocacy-related efforts at both the state and federal levels to build relationships with legislators in support of ophthalmology.

    Van Charles Lansingh, MD, received the 2016 International Blindness Prevention Award for his efforts to restore sight worldwide.

    Steven J. Gedde, MD, received the 2016 Straatsma Award for excellence in resident education.

    Vanderbilt Eye Institute and its leadership, Paul Sternberg Jr., MD, and Janice C. Law, MD, received the Commitment to Advocacy Award. This award recognizes a residency training department for outstanding support of the Academy’s Advocacy Ambassador Program.

    The Laureate is the Academy’s highest honor, recognizing ophthalmologists who have made exceptional scientific contributions toward preventing blindness and restoring sight worldwide.

    2016 – Matthew D. Davis, MD

    2015 – Bruce E. Spivey, MD

    2014 – Jerry A. Shields, MD

    2013 – Daniel M. Albert, MD, MHS

    2012 – Stephen J. Ryan, MD

    2011 – Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS