• International Education Award

    2021 International Education Award Recipients

    Awards Committee

    The International Education Award was developed to recognize international Academy members who pursue lifelong education in ophthalmology.

    2021 International Education Award Recipients

    Camille Constancia Chang Zayco, MD (Philippines)
    Francisco A. Villarroel, MD (Chile)
    Francisco Alfredo Santos Dacarett, MD (Honduras)
    Juan Carlos Serna, MD (Mexico)
    Juan Pablo Handal, MD (Honduras)
    Madhu Uddaraju, MS (India)
    Osama A. Sorour, MBCB (Egypt)
    Ravinder Dennis Bhui MD (Canada)
    Rudra Rishi Gupta MD (Canada)
    Tayyaba Gul Malik, MBBS, FRCS (Pakistan)


    To earn this award, you must meet the following criteria:

    • Maintain an international membership in the Academy;
    • Have completed all your medical training;
    • Earn 45 continuing medical education (CME) credits each year for two consecutive years from the time of the application. At least 45 credits from the total of 90 accrued for the duration of the application must be Academy-sponsored CME.

    After applying, you are responsible to record your CME credits on your online CME transcript.

    Application and Recognition

    Award recipients will receive the following:

    • A commemorative award certificate
    • Acknowledgement on the Academy's website
    • Acknowledgement on award panels at the annual meeting
    • Acknowledgment in the Academy’s Annual Awards booklet

    Apply for this award