• Candidate Qualifications

    Academy fellows in good standing may be considered for positions on the Board of Trustees, with the exception of international trustee-at-large. Only international members or fellows and members who practice exclusively outside of the United States may be considered for appointment as an international trustee-at-large. Board nominees should be able to demonstrate experience in performing fiduciary duties at the non-profit level and making high-level budgetary, contractual or other executive decisions. Board nominees should be available to attend the five board meetings held annually.

    The Academy's leaders should be knowledgeable, experienced and prepared to devote the time and energy required by a large organization in these challenging times. This work is both demanding and rewarding for those interested in helping to assure the Academy's success and responsiveness to members. With these characteristics in mind, assist the Nominating Committee by suggesting appropriate candidates for the following positions in 2023:

    President-elect (to serve as president in 2024). As the president-elect automatically becomes president the following year, it is crucial that nominees be individuals who have had leadership experience within the Academy. They should also have demonstrated leadership qualities in clinical practice, in their own ophthalmic communities and in other medical or ophthalmological organizations. 

    Senior Secretary for Ophthalmic Practice (three-year term). Coordinates the programs and activities relating to the management and practice of ophthalmology. Ravi D. Goel, MD is currently serving the third year of his term and is eligible for a second term.

    Secretary for Annual Meeting (three-year term). Responsible for all Academy programs at the annual meeting and subspecialty day.

    Trustee-at-large (four-year term). This individual should be an Academy fellow who is especially attuned to the needs and expectations of our members. In addition to demonstrating strong leadership potential, they should be able to represent and articulate the needs and concerns of members to the Academy board. 

    Public trustee (a renewable three-year appointment). The Bylaws allow the board to appoint up to three public trustees. A public trustee is an advisor to and member of the Board of Trustees. Public trustees provide insight on how ophthalmology can better work with the rest of medicine, the public, government, and industry. The nominating committee will be pleased to receive suggestions for individuals who may be physicians from other medical specialties or leaders in industry, government, public policy, or advocacy. Currently the board is served by David C. Herman, MD, James A. Lawrence, and Paul B. Ginsburg, PhD, who are all serving the third year of their three-year terms and are eligible for another term. Public trustees do not vote on Academy governance, the budget or other programmatic issues. 

    Nomination Process

    The nomination period closed on Jan. 31 and all submissions have been sent to the Nominating Committee for consideration. Nominations for the Board may still be made without the Nominating Committee's participation by presenting a petition signed by at least fifty (50) voting fellows and members to the CEO's office at least sixty (60) days prior to the date of the annual business meeting (Aug. 2). 

    Nominating Committee

    The Nominating Committee is a standing committee of the Board of Trustees that recommends nominations for elected board positions to the Board of Trustees. Per the Academy's bylaws, the committee consists of eight members and is chaired by the past president. The committee recommends a single candidate for each open elected position to the Board of Trustees for approval. Nominations for Council chair and vice chair are made through Council elections that are then sent to the Board of Trustees for approval. 

    The Academy nominating process has been carefully crafted to be inclusive, fair, and efficient. This process encourages a broad base of nominations from the entire Academy membership. The Nominating committee composition is delineated by the bylaws, and it considers a number of factors when screening potential candidates including: integrity, ophthalmology leadership ability, special expertise, past committee and leadership experience and performance, and knowledge and interest in the multitude of issues currently facing ophthalmology. In addition to nominations from the current year, the committee also reviews prior year nominations to ensure a wide range of potential candidates for each position. Following months of confidential deliberations, the committee presents final recommendations to the Board of Trustees for approval. This single candidate method avoids the loss of valuable future leaders as there are no public “losers” in the election. Often those considered, but not selected, for an open position one year, become the nominee of choice in a future year.

    The members of the 2022 Nominating Committee are: Tamara R. Fountain, MD (chair); Mary Louise Z. Collins, MD; Anna Luisa Di Lorenzo, MD; K. David Epley, MD; Sidney K. Gicheru, MD; Ravi D. Goel, MD; Stephen D. McLeod, MD (ex-officio) and George A. Williams, MD.

    Announcement of Candidates

    The official slate of candidates, recommended by the Nominating Committee and approved by the Board of Trustees, will be announced with notice of the annual business meeting in accordance with the Academy's bylaws.