• AAO 2019: Cataract, Anterior Segment

    The following are highlights from AAO 2019. Find the entire cataract program online through Program Search. Click the red "Filter" button at the top of the page, then choose the "Topics" menu to refine your search results by "cataract".

    Cataract Monday

    SPO2 - Spotlight on Cataract: Complicated Phaco Cases- My Top 5 Pearls
    Monday, Oct. 14, 8:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
    Moderator: David F. Chang, MD and Nicole R. Fram, MD

    SYM45 - ASCRS Essentials: The Complete Guide to the Management of Astigmatism at the Time of Cataract Surgery
    Cosponsored by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS)
    Monday, Oct. 14, 2:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
    Program Chairs: Edward J. Holland, MD and Kevin M. Miller, MD

    Skills Transfer Labs

    LAB107 - No Capsule, No Problem: Intrascleral Haptic Fixation of IOLs 
    Sunday, Oct. 13, 8:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. 
    Course Director: Naveen K. Rao, MD

    LAB106A - Pupilloplasty Techniques and Innovations in Iris Repair
    Sunday, Oct. 13, 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.  
    Course Director: Priyanka Sood, MD

    LAB110A - Manual Small Incision Cataract Surgery
    Sunday, Oct. 13, 11:30 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.  
    Course Director: Jeff H. Pettey, MD

    Instruction Courses

    245 - IFIS Pearls for Management and Prevention
    Sunday, Oct. 13, 2 p.m. - 3 p.m.
    Senior Instructor: Steve A. Arshinoff, MD

    273 - Surgical Management of Iris Defects
    Sunday, Oct. 13, 3:15 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
    Senior Instructor: Nicole R. Fram, MD

    516 - Cataract Surgery Pearls for Young Ophthalmologists
    Monday, Oct. 14, 4:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.  
    Senior Instructor: Robert F. Melendez, MD, MBA

    668 - Cataracts: When You Encounter the Unexpected and the Unpleasant-A Video-Based Course
    Tuesday, Oct. 15, 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.  
    Senior Instructor: Soosan Jacob, MBBS, FRCS

    All instruction courses are part of the Academy Plus course pass.

    Academy Café

    SYM64 - Cataract
    Tuesday, Oct. 15, 8:30 a.m. – 9:45 a.m.
    Moderator: Lisa B. Arbisser, MD