• AAO 2018 Opening Session and Annual Business Meeting

    Sunday, Oct. 28, 8:30 a.m.

    Time Topic Presenter
    8:30 a.m. Opening Remarks Maria M. Aaron, MD
    8:32 a.m. Academy President’s Address Keith D. Carter, MD, FACS
    8:38 a.m. PAAO President’s Address J. Fernando Arévalo, MD
    8:44 a.m. Academy CEO’s Address David W. Parke II, MD
    8:50 a.m. Academy Awards  
    8:58 a.m. Laureate Award: Steven Charles, MD, FACS, FICS  
    9:01 a.m. Election of Fellows & Members, Board of Trustees’ Election Announcement and New Business Keith D. Carter, MD, FACS
    9:04 a.m. Passing of the Gavel and Introduction of the President-Elect Keith D. Carter, MD, FACS
    George A. Williams, MD
    9:06 a.m. Academy President-Elect’s Address George A. Williams, MD
    9:11 a.m. Panel: Drug Pricing in Medicare Moderator: Michael X. Repka, MD, Academy's Medical Director for Governmental Affairs
    9:31 a.m. Introduction of the Jackson Memorial Lecture Maria M. Aaron, MD
    9:33 a.m. Jackson Memorial Lecture: Lessons Learned from Avastin and OCT: The Great, The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly Philip J. Rosenfeld, MD, PhD
    9:58 a.m. Jackson Memorial Lecture Award Presentation Richard K. Parrish, II, MD
    9:59 a.m. Concluding Remarks Maria M. Aaron, MD

    Dr. Philip RosenfeldJackson Memorial Lecture: Philip J. Rosenfeld, MD, PhD

    Dr. Philip J. Rosenfeld is currently Director and Professor of Ophthalmology at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute, University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine. His primary clinical and research interests are in age-related macular degeneration (AMD). He is at the forefront of medical science having spent decades seeking effective therapies for AMD as the principal investigator and study chairman for numerous AMD clinical trials. He was instrumental in the clinical development of anti-VEGF therapies, the use of optical coherence tomography (OCT) guided treatment regimens using anti-VEGF therapy, the clinical development of OCT instruments, and the development and use of novel OCT algorithms for the diagnosis and management of macular diseases.

    Laureate Award: Steven T. Charles, MD, FACS, FICS

    Dr. Steve CharlesDr. Steve Charles is a Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Tennessee. He is one of the world’s leading vitreoretinal surgeons and has developed many of the techniques and devices used by vitreoretinal surgeons worldwide. He has delivered 17 named lectures, authored a leading textbook in the field as well as over 174 articles in the medical literature and over 50 book chapters. He is on the editorial board of Retina and a reviewer for Ophthalmology, Archives of Ophthalmology, American Journal of Ophthalmology, and British Journal of Ophthalmology. He writes a column for Retina Physician and is an editor for eMedicine. Dr. Charles is also a mechanical and electrical engineer with well over 100 issued or pending patents.

    2018 Academy Awards

    Guests of Honor

    Wallace L. M. Alward, MD
    Paul R. Lichter, MD
    Jeffrey A. Nerad, MD

    Distinguished Service Award

    Directors of Medical Student Education in Ophthalmology
    Rukhsana Mirza, MD will be accepting.

    Special Recognition Award

    Ophthalmology Section of the National Medical Association
    Chasidy D. Singleton, MD will be accepting.

    Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award

    David Heiden, MD
    William L. White, MD

    Outstanding Advocate Award

    Bradley C. Black, MD

    International Blindness Prevention Award

    Jacob Pe’er, MD

    Straatsma Award for Excellence in Resident Education

    Preston Blomquist, MD

    Visionary Society Award

    Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company (OMIC)

    How to Access the 2018 Program

    • Mobile Meeting Guide: Full meeting and program information, login required. Access the Mobile Meeting Guide until Dec. 30.
    • Meeting Program (PDF 14MB): Condensed guide to AAO 2018, Subspecialty Day, AAOE Program and the exhibition.
    • Starting Dec. 1, you can find links to the AAO 2018 program, handouts, posters and videos in Meeting Archives.