• Uveitis

    Edited by:

    Justine R. Smith, MD, PhD
    American Uveitis Society AAO Education Liaison

    The following 10 uveitis papers published in 2011 were selected by members of the American Uveitis Society (AUS) for their outstanding teaching value for residents. 

    Chan CC, Rubenstein JL, Coupland SE, Davis JL, Harbour JW, Johnston PB, Cassoux N, Touitou V, Smith JR, Batchelor TT, Pulido JS. Primary vitreoretinal lymphoma: a report from an International Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma Collaborative Group symposium. Oncologist. 2011;16:1589-99.

    Durrani K, Zakka FR, Ahmed M, Memon M, Siddique SS, Foster CS. Systemic therapy with conventional and novel immunomodulatory agents for ocular inflammatory disease. Surv Ophthalmol. 2011;56:474-510.

    Grunwald L, Newcomb CW, Daniel E, Kaçmaz RO, Jabs DA, Levy-Clarke GA, Nussenblatt RB, Rosenbaum JT, Suhler EB, Thorne JE, Foster CS, Kempen JH; Systemic Immunosuppressive Therapy for Eye Diseases Cohort Study. Risk of relapse in primary acute anterior uveitis. Ophthalmology. 2011;118:1911-5.

    Lowder C, Belfort R Jr, Lightman S, Foster CS, Robinson MR, Schiffman RM, Li XY, Cui H, Whitcup SM; Ozurdex HURON Study Group. Dexamethasone intravitreal implant for noninfectious intermediate or posterior uveitis. Arch Ophthalmol. 2011;129:545-53.

    Multicenter Uveitis Steroid Treatment (MUST) Trial Research Group, Kempen JH, Altaweel MM, Holbrook JT, Jabs DA, Louis TA, Sugar EA, Thorne JE. Randomized comparison of systemic anti-inflammatory therapy versus fluocinolone acetonide implant for intermediate, posterior, and panuveitis: the multicenter uveitis steroid treatment trial. Ophthalmology. 2011;118:1916-26.

    Nguyen QD, Hatef E, Kayen B, Macahilig CP, Ibrahim M, Wang J, Shaikh O, Bodaghi B. A cross-sectional study of the current treatment patterns in noninfectious uveitis among specialists in the United States. Ophthalmology. 2011;118:184-90. 

    Sen HN, Sangave AA, Goldstein DA, Suhler EB, Cunningham D, Vitale S, Nussenblatt RB. A standardized grading system for scleritis. Ophthalmology. 2011;118:768-71.

    Sohn EH, Wang R, Read R, Roufas A, Teo L, Moorthy R, Albini T, Vasconcelos-Santos DV, Dustin LD, Zamir E, Chee SP, McCluskey P, Smith R, Rao N. Long-term, multicenter evaluation of subconjunctival injection of triamcinolone for non-necrotizing, noninfectious anterior scleritis. Ophthalmology.  2011;118:1932-7.

    Sugar EA, Jabs DA, Altaweel MM, Lightman S, Acharya N, Vitale AT, Thorne JE; Multicenter Uveitis Steroid Treatment (MUST) Trial Research Group. Identifying a clinically meaningful threshold for change in uveitic macular edema evaluated by optical coherence tomography. Am J Ophthalmol.  2011;152:1044-1052.e5.

    Wensing B, Relvas LM, Caspers LE, Valentincic NV, Stunf S, de Groot-Mijnes JD, Rothova A. Comparison of rubella virus- and herpes virus-associated anterior uveitis: clinical manifestations and visual prognosis. Ophthalmology. 2011;118:1905-10. 

    An American Uveitis Society Publication


    Nisha R. Acharya, MD, MS; Esen K. Akpek, MD; Penny A. Asbell, MD; Andrea D. Birnbaum, MD, PhD; Nicholas J. Butler, MD; Mandi D. Conway, MD; Reza Dana, MD, MSc, MPH; Janet L. Davis, MD; Anthony S. Ekong, MD; Naomi S. Falk, MD; Gary E. Fish, MD; Jose A. Flores-Guevara, MD; David J. Forster, MD; C. Stephen Foster, MD; Sunir Garg, MD; Ronald C. Gentile, MD; Roger K. George, MD; Debra A. Goldstein, MD; Gary N. Holland, MD; Douglas A. Jabs, MD, MBA; Guy Jirawuthiworavong, MD, MA; Daniel Johnson, MD; Brian C. Joondeph, MD; Kashyap B. Kansupada, MD; Shree K. Kurup, MD; Daryl E. Kurz, MD; Paul A. Kurz, MD; Marlyn P. Langford, PhD; Theresa Gan Leung, MD; Ralph D. Levinson, MD; Grace A. Levy-Clarke, MD; Helen K. Li, MD; Careen Y. Lowder, MD, PhD; Todd P. Margolis, MD, PhD; Ramana S. Moorthy, MD; E. Mitchel Opremcak, MD; Alan G. Palestine, MD; George N. Papaliodis, MD; Jose S. Pulido, MD; Russell W. Read, MD, PhD; Narsing A. Rao, MD; James T. Rosenbaum, MD; Shlomit Schaal, MD, PhD; Anita P. Schadlu, MD; Ivan Schwab, MD; H. Nida Sen, MD, MHSc; Mark D. Sherman, MD; Justine R. Smith, MBBS, PhD; Wendy M. Smith; Lucia Sobrin, MD, MPH; Daniel H. Spitzberg, MD; Eric B. Suhler, MD, MPH; Donald U. Stone, MD; Howard H. Tessler, MD; Jennifer E. Thorne, MD, PhD; Albert T. Vitale, MD; Russell N. Van Gelder, MD, PhD; Jonathan D. Walker, MD; R. Christopher Walton, MD; Jeffrey L. Willig, MD; Ira G. Wong, MD, MS; Shalini Yalamanchi, MD.