• MIPS 2021—Your Guide to MIPS Acronyms

    This content is excerpted from EyeNet’s MIPS 2021; also see the Academy’s MIPS hub page.

    When the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthori­zation (MACRA) Bill of 2015 launched MIPS, it equipped the new pay-for-performance program with dozens of acronyms—some were co-opted from exist­ing regulatory programs; others were brand-new.

    Keep this guide to those acronyms handy; it will prove helpful whenever you are trying to refresh your memory on the MIPS regulations.

    AAPM: Advanced alternative payment model

    ACI: Advancing care information1

    ACO: Accountable care organization

    ACR measure: All-Cause Readmission measure

    APM: Alternative payment model

    APP: APM performance pathway

    ASC: Ambulatory surgical center

    CAHPS: Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems

    CCDS: Common Clinical Data Set2

    CEHRT: Certified electronic health record technology

    CHPL: Certified Health IT Product List

    CMS: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

    CPIA: Clinical practice improvement activities1

    CQM: Clinical quality measure

    CTBS: Communications technology-based services

    dQM: Digital quality measure

    EC: Eligible clinician

    eCQM: Electronic clinical quality measures

    EHR: Electronic health record

    FFS: Fee for service

    HARP: HCQIS Access Roles and Profile3

    HCC: Hierarchical Condition Category

    HCQIS: Health Care Quality Information Systems

    HHS: Health and Human Services

    HPSA: Health professional shortage area

    HWR measure: Hospital-Wide Readmission measure

    IRIS Registry: Intelligent Research in Sight Registry

    MACRA: Medicare Access and CHIP [Children’s Health Insurance Program]

    Reauthorization Bill of 2015

    MIPS: Merit-Based Incentive Payment System

    MIPS APM: MIPS alternative payment model

    MIPS CQM: MIPS clinical quality measure

    MIPS EC: MIPS eligible clinician

    MVP: MIPS Value Pathway

    MSPB measure: Medicare Spending Per Beneficiary measure

    MU: Meaningful use1

    NPI: National Provider Identifier

    ONC: Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

    P4P: Pay for performance

    PECOS: Provider Enrollment, Chain, and Ownership System

    PHE: Public Health Emergency

    PI: Promoting interoperability

    PQRS: Physician Quality Reporting System1

    PROM: Patient-reported outcome measure

    QCDR: Qualified Clinical Data Registry

    QP: Qualifying APM participant

    QPP: Quality Payment Program

    TIN: Taxpayer Identification Number

    TPCC measure: Total Per Capita Cost measure

    USCDI: US Core Data for Interoperability2

    Term no longer in use for MIPS: CMS replaced “advancing care infor­mation” with “promoting interoperability;” “clinical practice improve­ment activities” are now generally known as “improvement activiites;” the EHR “meaningful use” program evolved into the “promoting interoperability” performance category; and the “Physician Quality Reporting System” evolved into the quality performance category.

    2 The Common Clinical Data Set is used in 2015-edition CEHRT; the US Core Data for Interoperability is used in 2015-edition Cures Update CEHRT.

    3 The HARP system involves a CMS secure identity management portal that provides you with a user ID and password for several CMS applications.

    Previous: Key Dates for Performance Year 2021

    Next: Harder to Avoid the Penalty 

    DISCLAIMER AND LIMITATION OF LIABILITY: Meeting regulatory requirements is a complicated process involving continually changing rules and the application of judgment to factual situations. The Academy does not guarantee or warrant that regulators and public or private payers will agree with the Academy’s information or recommendations. The Academy shall not be liable to you or any other party to any extent whatsoever for errors in, or omissions from, any such information provided by the Academy, its employees, agents, or representatives.

    COPYRIGHT© 2021, American Academy of Ophthalmology, Inc.® All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. American Academy of Ophthalmic Executives® and IRIS® Registry, among other marks, are trademarks of the American Academy of Ophthalmology®.

    All of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)–developed quality measures are copyrighted by the AAO’s H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., MD, Center for Quality Eye Care (see terms of use).