Skip to main content
  • MIPS 2022—Quality: An Overview

    This content is excerpted from EyeNet’s MIPS 2022: A Primer and Reference; also see the Academy’s MIPS hub page.

    Default weighting in MIPS final score: 30% (down from 40% in 2021).  

    Performance period: Full calendar year.

    Performance requirements: 

    Collection types: You can:

    Clinicians in small practices—but not large practices—can also report via Medicare Part B claims.

    Your quality score's contribution to your MIPS final score (0-100 points): If quality's weighting in your MIPS final score is 30%, that means it can contribute up to 30 points to that score. For example, a quality score of 50% would contribute 15 points to your MIPS final score. However, under certain circumstances, CMS may reweight your performance categories. For example, if you qualify for a promoting interoperability exception and if CMS is not able to score you on any cost measures, quality's weight would be increased to 50% if you are in a small practice and 85% if you are in a large practice.

    Previous: The Evolving CMS Policy on MIPS Value Pathways

    Next: MIPS 2022—Quality: Pick Your Collection Type 

    DISCLAIMER AND LIMITATION OF LIABILITY: Meeting regulatory requirements is a complicated process involving continually changing rules and the application of judgment to factual situations. The Academy does not guarantee or warrant that regulators and public or private payers will agree with the Academy’s information or recommendations. The Academy shall not be liable to you or any other party to any extent whatsoever for errors in, or omissions from, any such information provided by the Academy, its employees, agents, or representatives.

    COPYRIGHT© 2022, American Academy of Ophthalmology, Inc.® All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. American Academy of Ophthalmic Executives® and IRIS® Registry, among other marks, are trademarks of the American Academy of Ophthalmology®.

    All of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)–developed quality measures are copyrighted by the AAO’s H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., MD, Center for Quality Eye Care (see terms of use).