Skip to main content
  • MIPS 2023—Your Guide to MIPS Acronyms

    This content is excerpted from EyeNet’s MIPS 2023: A Primer and Reference; also see the Academy’s MIPS hub page.


    AAPM: Advanced alternative payment model

    ACI: Advancing care information 1

    ACO: Accountable care organization

    ACR measure: All-Cause Readmission measure

    API: Application Programming Interface

    APM: Alternative payment model

    APP: APM performance pathway

    ASC: Ambulatory surgical center

    CAHPS: Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems

    CCDS: Common Clinical Data Set 2

    CEHRT: Certified electronic health record technology

    CHPL: Certified Health IT Product List

    CMS: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

    CPIA: Clinical practice improvement activities 1

    CQM: Clinical quality measure

    CTBS: Communications technology–based services

    DOH: Drivers of health

    dQM: Digital quality measure

    EC: Eligible clinician

    eCR: Electronic case reporting

    eCQM: Electronic clinical quality measure

    EHI: Electronic health information

    EHR: Electronic health record

    EUC: Extreme and uncontrollable circumstances

    FFS: Fee for service

    FHIR: Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources

    HARP: HCQIS Access Roles and Profile 3

    HCC: Hierarchical Condition Category

    HCQIS: Health Care Quality Information Systems

    HHS: Health and Human Services

    HIE: Health information exchange

    HL7: Health Level Seven International

    HPSA: Health professional shortage area

    HRSN: Health-related social need

    HWR measure
    : Hospital-Wide Readmission measure

    IRIS Registry: Intelligent Research in Sight Registry

    MACRA: Medicare Access and CHIP [Children’s Health Insurance Program] Reauthorization Bill of 2015

    MIPS: Merit-Based Incentive Payment System

    MIPS APM: MIPS alternative payment model

    MIPS CQM: MIPS clinical quality measure

    MIPS EC: MIPS eligible clinician

    MVP: MIPS Value Pathway

    MSPB measure: Medicare Spending Per Beneficiary measure

    MU: Meaningful use 1

    NPI: National Provider Identifier

    NPPES: National Plan Provider and Enumeration System

    ONC: Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology

    P4P: Pay for performance

    PDMP: Prescription Drug Monitoring Program

    PECOS: Provider Enrollment, Chain, and Ownership System

    PGHD: Patent-generated health data

    PHA: Public health agency

    PHE: Public Health Emergency

    PI: Promoting interoperability

    PQRS: Physician Quality Reporting System 1

    PRO: Patient-reported outcome

    PROM: Patient-reported outcome measure

    QCDR: Qualified Clinical Data Registry

    QP: Qualifying APM participant

    QPP: Quality Payment Program

    RTBT: Real time benefit tool

    SAFER Guides:
    Safety Assurance for EHR Resilience Guides

    SDOH: Social driver (or determinant) of health

    SOGI: Sexual orientation and gender identity

    TIN: Taxpayer Identification Number

    TPCC measure: Total Per Capita Cost measure

    USCDI: U.S. Core Data for Interoperability 2


    1 Term no longer in use for MIPS. (CMS replaced “advancing care information” with “promoting interoperability.” “Clinical practice improvement activities” are now generally known as “improvement activities.” The EHR “meaningful use” program evolved into the “promoting interoperability” performance category. And the “Physician Quality Reporting System” evolved into the quality performance category.)

    2 The Common Clinical Data Set is used in 2015-edition CEHRT. The U.S. Core Data for Interoperability is used in 2015-edition Cures Update CEHRT.

    3 The HARP system involves a CMS secure identity management portal that provides you with a user ID and password for several CMS applications.

    Previous: Small Practices Get Some Breaks
    Key Dates for Performance Year 2023

    DISCLAIMER AND LIMITATION OF LIABILITY: All information provided by the American Academy of Ophthalmology, its employees, agents, or representatives participating in the Academy’s efforts to explain regulatory and reimbursement issues is as current and reliable as reasonably possible. The Academy does not provide legal or accounting services or advice. You should seek legal and/or accounting advice if appropriate to your situation.

    Meeting regulatory requirements is a complicated process involving continually changing rules and the application of judgment to factual situations. The Academy does not guarantee or warrant that either public or private payers will agree with the Academy’s information or recommendations.

    The Academy shall not be liable to you or any other party to any extent whatsoever for errors in, or omissions from any such information provided by the Academy, its employees, agents, or representatives.

    COPYRIGHT© 2023, American Academy of Ophthalmology, Inc.® All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. American Academy of Ophthalmology ®, American Academy of Ophthalmic Executives®, IRIS®, the Focus logo, and Protecting Sight. Empowering Lives ®, among other marks, are trademarks of the American Academy of Ophthalmology®.

    All of the American Academy of Ophthalmology-developed quality measures are  copyrighted by the AAO’s H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., MD, Center for Quality Eye Care (see terms of use).