• John A. Moran Eye Center
    Comprehensive Ophthalmology, Neuro-Ophthalmology/Orbit

    Dr. Kathleen B. Digre has been selected as the first Hedi Fritz Niggli visiting professor at the University of Zurich in Switzerland, a professorship established to promote gender balance in academia.    

    Dr. Digre, director of the Neuro-ophthlamology Fellowship at the University of Utah’s John A. Moran Eye Center and chief of Neurology’s Division of Headache and Neuro-Ophthalmology, is long known for her work in championing women’s health issues and women in science. 

    “This is a great honor for me and for the Moran Eye Center,” Digre said. “I will be working with the University of Zurich to lay the groundwork for future visiting professors and its goal of ‘filling the gap’—finding and promoting more women faculty.” 

    Digre was the first woman president of the North American Neuro-ophthalmology Society, past councilor and secretary for the American Neurological Association, and currently serves as secretary on the board of directors of the American Headache Society.

    Digre is also the recipient of the Gender Equity Award, Linda Amos Award, the Martha Hughes Cannon Award, the NANOS Distinguished Service Award, and the Rosenblatt Award—the University of Utah’s highest honor.

    This six-month visiting professorship was established to promote the University’s commitment to finding a balance in gender representation by increasing the proportion of women professors and leaders at the university. By bringing in high-profile women through this professorship, the University hopes to heighten the visibility of women professors as role models. 

    Digre will be in residence at the university through July 2014. In addition to sharing all that Moran does in the areas of research, patient care, and education, Digre will be promoting Webvision and the Neuro-Ophthalmology Virtual Education Library (NOVEL) a partnership with the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library at the University of Utah and the North American Neuro-ophthalmology Society.