• American Academy of Ophthalmology Grants International Ophthalmologist Education Award

    SAN FRANCISCO – The American Academy of Ophthalmology AAO conferred  its International Ophthalmologists Education Award to 33 physicians in 2009. The International Ophthalmologist Education Award was developed to recognize AAO members practicing outside the United States who participate in continuing ophthalmic education through the AAO and report their activities.

    To qualify, international members must have finished their residency training and complete 90 continuing medical education CME credits over a period of three years. Half the credits must be AAO-sponsored CME.

    “The mission of the AAO is to promote lifelong learning for ophthalmologists, resulting in improved patient care,” said David W. Parke II, MD, executive vice president and CEO of the AAO. “We are very proud of our international members who have taken the mission to heart, and we feel it is equally important to recognize their efforts towards professional growth. We encourage all our international members – most of whom are already using AAO’s educational resources – to report their CME and allow us to acknowledge their efforts.”

    The 2009 International Ophthalmologist Education Award recipients are:

    • Alfredo G. Kotlik, MD Argentina
    • Antonio Ferreras, MD Spain
    • Arnold I. Kravetz, MD Canada
    • Bruno M. Fontes, MD Brazil
    • Carlo De Conciliis, MD Italy
    • Colin S Tan, MBBS Singapore
    • Ernesto S. Yapur, MD Argentina
    • Francesco P. Bernardini, MD Italy
    • Giovanni Cardini, MD Italy
    • Gopal Lal Verma, MD India
    • Hazem A. El-Sabagh, MBBS Saudi Arabia
    • Jerman M. Alqahtani, MBBS Saudi Arabia
    • Juan Salinas, MD United Kingdom
    • Karen Salcedo, MD Venezuela
    • Konstadinos Chatzinikolas, MD Greece
    • Laurentino Biccas Neto, MD Brazil
    • Madhav Rao Kenja MD United Arab Emirates
    • Manuel Moriche Carretero, MD Spain
    • Marco Antonio C. Olytho Jr., MD Brazil
    • Mario Robert Ventresca, MD, FRCSC Canada
    • Massimo Busin, MD Italy
    • Matthias Christian Grieshaber, MD Switzerland
    • Mehdi Modarres, MD Iran
    • Miloslav B. Bozdech, MD Canada
    • Palaniswamy Sunderraj, MD England
    • Paul Aron Adler, MBBS Australia
    • Prasan M. Rao, MBBS, MS United Arab Emirates
    • Robert F. Stevenson, MD Canada
    • Sathish Srinivasan, MBBS, FRCSEd, FRCOphth Scotland
    • Sergio E. Echeverria, MD Chile
    • Tarun Sharma, MBBS India
    • Teodoro Mylonopoulos Caripdis, MD Spain
    • Vasiliki Flindri, MD Greece

    Congratulations to the 2009 recipients and all of the recipients of the Education Award from years prior.

    About the American Academy of Ophthalmology
    The American Academy of Ophthalmology is the world's largest association of eye physicians and surgeons — Eye M.D.s — with more than 29,000 members worldwide.  Eye health care is provided by the three “O’s” – opticians, optometrists and ophthalmologists. It is the ophthalmologist, or Eye M.D., who can treat it all: eye diseases, infections and injuries, and perform eye surgery.