• Don’t Miss These Must-Attend Events Built Just for YOs at AAO 2020 Virtual

    AAO 2020 Virtual is all-inclusive. What does that mean for young ophthalmologists? 

    Although you won’t be attending in person, the Academy has opened all areas of the meeting to every attendee — any session, course, Subspecialty Day meeting or skills transfer course, at one cost without additional tickets or registrations. 

    Given this unprecedented opportunity, your meeting schedule is going to be packed. But be sure to mark down these two can’t-miss sessions built specifically for YOs by YOs: the YO Program and the YO Symposium. Come explore the hottest topics that every young ophthalmologist needs to know for growing a successful career!

    YO Program

    The Academy’s annual YO Program (Sunday, Nov. 15) is a program like no other. It’s the pinnacle YO event for all residents and physicians in their first five years of practice.

    • Part 1: How to Find and Succeed in Your Dream Job (12:05 to 12:50 p.m. PT/3:05 to 3:50 p.m. ET). Gain insight from experts on how to transition from training to practice, including landing the job you really want. Also get tips on changing jobs, life in academics and what private equity means to you and your practice.
    • Part 2: Bringing Your Skills into FOCUS (1 to 1:45 p.m. PT/4 to 4:45 p.m. ET). Discover pearls on everything you need to continue growing your clinical and surgical knowledge, including how to integrate new techniques not learned in residency and navigating surgical mistakes. Also check out the winners of this year’s ONE® Network 1-Minute Video Competition.

    YO Symposium

    You can also use AAO 2020 Virtual to learn about practicing medicine in today’s ever-changing world of innovation.

    • YO Symposium: 20/20 in Focus — How Technology Will Bring Us Closer to Perfection (Sunday, Nov. 15, 2:05 to 2:55 p.m. PT/5:05 to 5:55 p.m. ET): During this dynamic symposium, speakers will discuss a range of topics, including surgical advances in corneal transplantation, biologics for orbital disease, sustained-release glaucoma drugs, telemedicine for the management of ROP, breaking the glass ceiling for women in leadership, the ethics of artificial intelligence and more. Stick around for a question-and-answer session with all of the expert panelists.

    AAO 2020 Virtual also offers a whole range of other sessions of particular interest to young ophthalmologists. For the most up-to-date course information, check the Program Search at aao.org/programsearch.