Skip to main content
  • The International Scholar Award is an award that the Academy developed to honor international members and their lifelong commitment to learning. This award is a two-year program.

    International Scholar Award Recipients


    To earn this award, you must meet the following criteria

    • Maintain an international membership in the Academy;
    • Have previously received the International Ophthalmologist Education Award;
    • Earn 45 continuing medical education (CME) credits each year for two consecutive years from the time of application. At least 45 credits from the total of 90 accrued for the duration of the application must be Academy-sponsored CME;
    • Successfully complete a timed, online self-assessment test with a passing score of 80% or higher.

    After applying, you are responsible to record your CME credits on your online CME transcript.

    2024 International Scholar Recipients

    Emmanouil Mavrikakis, MD, PhD, FASRS (Athens, Greece)
    Thomas Ach, MD (Bonn, Germany)
    Annabelle A. Okada, MD (Tokyo, Japan)
    Rameez Najamul Hussain, MD (Quatre Bornes, Mauritius)
    Fernando Dolz Güerri, MD, PhD, FEBO (Tarragona, Spain)
    Durgesh Kumar, MBBS (Gorakhpur, India)