• The Lifelong Education for the Ophthalmologist (LEO) Continuing Education Recognition Award is annually presented to Academy members in recognition of their ongoing participation in the Academy’s education programs and publications.

    The Academy’s LEO Award has been recognized by the American Medical Association (AMA) as qualifying for reciprocity with their Physician’s Recognition Award (PRA). The Academy was the first national medical specialty society to arrange for this benefit on behalf of its members.

    Criteria for LEO Award Eligibility

    • Minimum of 150 AAO CME credits earned during a 3-year period from July 1 through June 30
    • Must have claimed CME credit for at least 1 Annual Meeting or reported ProVision product credit during the three year time period
    • Must not have been a LEO Award recipient during the same 3 year date range
    • Must be an active member of AAO and AMA

    International members may be interested in the International Ophthalmologist Education Award and the International Scholar Award

    2015 LEO Award Recipients

    Farouk A Abbas, MD
    Wael M Abdelghani, MD
    Munzer M Abdulhak, MD
    Richard C Angrist, MD
    Michelle M Ariss, MD
    Manal H Assaad, MD
    Janet L Barrall, MD
    Alan F Bloom, MD
    William A Bradley, III, MD
    Rebekah Arletta Braslow, MD
    Rubin Brecher, MD
    Coye T Carver, MD, FACS
    Christopher T Cessna, DO
    Georgios Chatzithanasis, MD
    Robert C Collier, MD
    Elizabeth J Crandall, MD
    Perin W Diana Jr, MD
    James J Edwards, MD
    Andrew C O Fong, MD
    Maxwell Greenman, MD
    Mohinder K Gupta, MD
    Sonia Hernandez, DO
    David E Holck, MD
    Jason D Horowitz, MD
    Michael S Ibarra, MD
    Herbert J Ingraham, MD
    Mohamad S Jaafar, MD FACS
    James Kao, DO 
    Jason A Kaplan, MD
    Jordan Kassoff, MD
    John J Khadem, MD, MPH
    Spero J Kinnas, MD
    Bruce A Klunzinger, MD
    Darrell J Kohli, MD
    Dayna M Lago, MD
    Marcus M Marcet, MD
    Clifford E Myers, MD
    Kamal F Nassif, MD
    Tamim Qaum, MD, COE, OCS
    Venkat M Reddy, MD
    Brandon L Riemer, DO
    Erik O Schoff, MD
    Colin J Scott, MD
    Todd D Severin, MD
    Clifford N Share, MD
    Marvin Shulman, MD
    Jeremy S Snow, MD
    Alan Victor Spigelman, MD
    Richard R Stout, MD
    Michael Y Su, MD
    Christina Pacio Tam, MD
    Neal Allen Tolchin, MD
    David I Turok, MD
    Virginia M Utz, MD
    Lee S Webster, MD
    Amy B Young, MD