• MIPS 2020—Quality: An Overview

    This content is excerpted from EyeNet’s MIPS 2020; also see the Academy’s MIPS hub page.

    Default weight in MIPS final score: 45%.

    Performance period: Full calendar year.

    Performance requirements: Aim to report on at least six quality measures. At least one of the six measures should be an outcome measure (or, if no outcome measure is available to you, another type of high priority measure). For each measure, you can score achievement points based on how your performance rate compares to a benchmark, and you may also be able to score bonus points.

    Collection types: You can report via IRIS Registry–EHR in­tegration, via manual entry of quality measure data into the IRIS Registry,  and/or via your EHR vendors. Small practices—but not large practices—can report via Medicare Part B claims.

    Of the four MIPS performance categories, quality can contribute the most to your MIPS final score. Its default weight is 45% of that score, meaning that it would contribute up to 45 points (i.e., a quality score of 100% contributes 45 points). However, under certain circumstances, CMS may reweight your performance categories. For example, quality’s weight can be increased to as high as 85% if you qualify for a promoting interoperability exception and if CMS is not able to score you on any cost measures.

    Previous: How Do Small Practices Avoid the Payment Penalty?

    Next: Quality: Pick Your Quality Collection Type(s)

    DISCLAIMER AND LIMITATION OF LIABILITY: Meeting regulatory requirements is a complicated process involving continually changing rules and the application of judgment to factual situations. The Academy does not guarantee or warrant that regulators and public or private payers will agree with the Academy’s information or recommendations. The Academy shall not be liable to you or any other party to any extent whatsoever for errors in, or omissions from, any such information provided by the Academy, its employees, agents, or representatives.

    COPYRIGHT© 2020, American Academy of Ophthalmology, Inc.® All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. American Academy of Ophthalmic Executives® and IRIS® Registry, among other marks, are trademarks of the American Academy of Ophthalmology®.

    All of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)–developed quality measures are copyrighted by the AAO’s H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., MD, Center for Quality Eye Care (see terms of use).