Skip to main content
  • MIPS 2022—Quality Scoring: Your Performance Rate Will Be Compared Against a Benchmark

    This content is excerpted from EyeNet’s MIPS 2022: A Primer and Reference; also see the Academy’s MIPS hub page.

    When you report a quality measure, CMS first determines whether you met the two data submission thresholds:

    • case minimum requirement (at least 20 patients) and
    • the data completeness criteria (at least 70% of applicable patients).

    If you meet both of those, CMS will see how your performance rate stacks up against the measure’s benchmark as shown below.

    Benchmarks are typically based on historical performance data. CMS used 2020 performance data to try to establish 2022 benchmarks for quality measures.

    A quality measure can have up to three different bench­marks. Quality measures typically have separate benchmarks for claims-based reporting, for reporting via manual data entry into the IRIS Registry, and for EHR-based reporting (whether via IRIS Registry integration or via your EHR vendor).

    However, the IRIS Registry’s QCDR measures (e.g., IRIS44: Visual Field Progression in Glaucoma) have the same bench­mark regardless of whether you are reporting via manual entry or via IRIS Registry–EHR integration.

    Also, some measures can’t be reported by all collection types and therefore have fewer than three benchmarks. For example, measure 374: Closing the Referral Loop, can’t be reported via claims.

    Your achievement score (3-10 points) for a measure will depend on how your performance compares against the measure’s benchmark. Each benchmark is broken into deciles. Assuming no scoring limitations apply, if your performance rate falls within:

    • deciles 1 or 2, you score 3 achievement points
    • deciles 3 through 9, your score will depend on where you fall within that decile (e.g., if you fall in the third decile, you can earn between 3.0 and 3.9 achievement points)
    • decile 10, you score 10 achievement points.

    Table: Scoring for Measure 374 When Reported via IRIS Registry–EHR Integration

    If you meet the two data submission thresholds, your achievement points score will be based on how your performance rate compares against the benchmark, with a floor of 3 points.

    Decile Performance Rate Achievement Points
    Decile 1 or 2 <7.71% 3 points
    Decile 3 7.71%-12.49% 3.0-3.9 points
    Decile 4 12.50%-18.72% 4.0-4.9 points
    Decile 5 18.73%-26.31% 5.0-5.9 points
    Decile 6 26.32%-37.09% 6.0-6.9 points
    Decile 7 37.10%-51.18% 7.0-7.9 points
    Decile 8 51.19%-66.66% 8.0-8.9 points
    Decile 9 66.67%-87.31% 9.0-9.9 points
    Decile 10 ≥87.32% 10 points
    Note: The above benchmark is only for EHR-based reporting; the benchmark for reporting measure 374 manually via the IRIS Registry has some scoring limitations; the measure can’t be reported via claims.  

    Previous: Quality: Manual Reporters Via the IRIS Registry Will Need Their Data-Completeness Totals (coming soon)

    Next: Quality Scoring: Some Benchmarks Are Subject to Scoring Limitations 

    DISCLAIMER AND LIMITATION OF LIABILITY: Meeting regulatory requirements is a complicated process involving continually changing rules and the application of judgment to factual situations. The Academy does not guarantee or warrant that regulators and public or private payers will agree with the Academy’s information or recommendations. The Academy shall not be liable to you or any other party to any extent whatsoever for errors in, or omissions from, any such information provided by the Academy, its employees, agents, or representatives.

    COPYRIGHT© 2022, American Academy of Ophthalmology, Inc.® All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. American Academy of Ophthalmic Executives® and IRIS® Registry, among other marks, are trademarks of the American Academy of Ophthalmology®.

    All of the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)–developed quality measures are copyrighted by the AAO’s H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., MD, Center for Quality Eye Care (see terms of use).