Skip to main content
  • Commitment to Advocacy Award

    2021 Commitment to Advocacy Awardee

    Awards Committee

    Academy Trustee-at-Large Mary Louise Z. Collins, MD (left) presents the 2021 Commitment to Advocacy award to Sonal Tuli, MD (right), Chair, Department of Ophthalmology, and Casey Beal, MD (center), Residency Program Director, University of Florida College of Medicine, Gainesville.

    The Commitment to Advocacy Award annually recognizes an ophthalmology training department and its leadership for outstanding support of the Academy's Ambassador Program. The Advocacy Ambassador Program is a collaboration with state and subspecialty societies, along with training programs, to support attendance by members in training at the Mid-Year Forum.

    The University of Florida (UF) College of Medicine, Gainesville is the recipient of the Academy's 2021 Commitment to Advocacy award. The award was presented to UF College of Medicine by the Academy and the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO) leaders on January 27, 2022 during AUPO's annual meeting.

    The Academy’s Secretariat for State Affairs created the award to recognize a training program and its leadership for demonstrating a commitment to the Academy’s Advocacy Ambassador Program. The Advocacy Ambassador Program gives residents and fellowship trainees hands-on training in advocacy and policy development and supports their attendance at the Academy’s annual Mid-Year Forum and Congressional Advocacy Day. The Department of Ophthalmology at the UF College of Medicine has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to engaging and educating members in training about the importance of advocating for their patients and their profession, fostering Advocacy Ambassadors' engagement with the Florida Society of Ophthalmology (FSO), and collaborating closely with the FSO.