Skip to main content
  • Rubens Belfort Jr., MD, PhD, MBA currently serves as the head professor of ophthalmology at the Federal University of Sao Paulo in Brazil, a position he has held since 1990. Dr. Belfort also directs the Philanthropic Vision Institute and is president of the Brazilian Academy of Ophthalmology. He is a CNPq (Brasil) 1-A Level scientist and current member of the National Academy of Medicine, Academia Ophthalmologica Internationalis, Brazilian Academy of Sciences and Brazilian Academy of Pharmacy.

    In 1990, he joined the National Eye Institute of the National Institutes of Health with a commitment to study uveitis, ocular AIDS, prevention of blindness and restoration of sight.

    Knowing that problems in ocular health can be solved only through new technologies, Dr. Belfort has been intensely involved in the innovative deconstruction of education and eye care delivery systems. He has focused on the redefinition, reeducation and reorganization of health care professional teams to work together in mutually beneficial ways.

    Dr. Belfort has held a number of prominent international positions within ophthalmology and vision research. He has been on the board of trustees of many international groups, including the International Council of Ophthalmology Foundation. Dr. Belfort has also served as chair of the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology Foundation and president of the Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology, World Congress of Ophthalmology and Pan-American Congress of Ophthalmology. He was editor of the Brazilian Archives of Ophthalmology for over 20 years.

    His scientific contributions include conferences in 31 countries, more than 390 peer-reviewed scientific publications, and hundreds of review articles and book chapters. Dr. Belfort has also edited 11 ophthalmological books in Portuguese, English and Spanish. Dr. Belfort has delivered a number of named lectures that include the Jackson Memorial Lecture, American Journal of Ophthalmology Lecture, Pan-American Association of Ophthalmology Lecture, Mourad Khalil Lecture, Gradle Lecture and Moacyr Alvaro Lecture.

    His awards include the President of Brazil Brazilian Medal of Scientific Merit, Senior Achievement Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, O'Connor/Schlaegel Gold Medal, Pan-American Medal for Distinguished Services, Gradle Medal for Teaching and Società Oftalmologica Italiana Honorary Award.