Skip to main content
  • Emory Eye Center associate program director Blaine Cribbs, MD, program director Jeremy Jones, MD, and chair and director Allen Beck, MD are honored by AUPO president Keith D. Carter, MD (left) and Academy Secretary for State Affairs Kurt Heitman, MD.

    The Emory Eye Center is the recipient of the Academy’s 2017 Commitment to Advocacy award. The award was presented to the Emory Eye Center by Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology (AUPO) and Academy leaders in January 2018 during AUPO's annual meeting.

    The Academy’s Secretariat for State Affairs created the award to recognize a training program and its leadership for demonstrating commitment to the Academy’s Advocacy Ambassador Program. The Advocacy Ambassador Program gives residents and fellows hands-on training in advocacy and policy development, and supports their attendance at the Academy’s annual Mid-Year Forum and Congressional Advocacy Day. The Emory Eye Center has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to engaging and educating members in training about the importance of advocating for their patients and their profession, and has collaborated closely with the Georgia Society of Ophthalmology.