• In conjunction with The Cornea Society

    Speaker 2016 Cornea Subspecialty Day

    Keeping the Old, or Breaking the Mold?

    Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017
    La Nouvelle Orleans Ballroom AB, Ernest N. Morial Convention Center


    View the 2017 Cornea Subspecialty Day schedule.

    Program Directors

    Bennie H. Jeng, MD; Carol L. Karp, MD; Jennifer Y. Li, MD

    Program Planning Group

    Bennie H. Jeng, MD; Carol L. Karp, MD; Jennifer Y. Li, MD

    Mission Statement

    The mission of the 2017 Cornea Subspecialty Day is to provide cornea specialists and comprehensive ophthalmologists who are actively managing patients with corneal diseases with new information regarding the diagnosis and medical and surgical management of important diseases of the cornea and ocular surface. The program will review evidence-based treatments for challenging medical disorders of the cornea, including corneal infections and tumors. Advances in the treatment of keratoconus and endothelial diseases will be presented. Surgical management of corneal disease will be highlighted in several formats, including didactic lectures, panel discussions, and case presentations.

    What is the professional practice gap that this activity will address?

    This program is designed to improve the management of both common and uncommon medical and surgical diseases of the cornea. Through a series of didactic lectures, relevant case presentations, and panel discussions by leading corneal experts, attendees will gain a better understanding of the diagnosis and management of a diverse range of corneal conditions, from common ocular surface disease to atypical keratitis and tumors, as well as the role of imaging in the management of these corneal disorders. In addition, through surgical video presentations, panel discussions, and didactic lectures, program participants will be updated on cutting-edge surgical techniques, such as corneal crosslinking, lamellar keratoplasty, keratoprosthesis, and ocular surface transplantation. Attendees will better understand how to overcome the learning curve for incorporating these techniques into their practices.

    Target Audience

    The intended audience for this program is cornea surgeons, comprehensive ophthalmologists with an interest in anterior segment, and allied health personnel who are performing or assisting with cornea surgery.

    Education Level

    Intermediate, Advanced


    The goals of this program are to:

    • Provide attendees with an evidence-based review of current management strategies for both commonplace and less common medical disorders of the cornea, including dry eye syndrome, infectious keratitis, persistent epithelial defects, and ocular surface tumors, using a case-based approach to improve the care of patients with these challenging diseases.
    • Discuss new diagnostic and therapeutic strategies for infectious and noninfectious keratitis and inflammatory conditions involving the ocular surface. Attendees will learn about the latest in treatment options for a wide range of ocular inflammatory diseases.
    • Describe the current state and future directions for various types of corneal transplant surgeries, including a discussion of how to decide which procedure is best in particular circumstances. This will be accomplished through lectures by respected experts as well as through surgically focused case presentations followed by panel discussions.
    • Provide attendees with an update on corneal imaging modalities so they better understand how and when to incorporate these new technologies.

    Program Objectives

    Upon completion of this activity, participants should be able to:

    • List common causes of corneal infections and best practices for management
    • Discuss the role of keratoplasty in the management of patients with corneal disease
    • Review the role of imaging and in-office diagnostics in the treatment of corneal disorders
    • Provide a rationale for treatment of ocular surface disease and inflammatory disorders

    CME Accreditation

    The American Academy of Ophthalmology is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

    The American Academy of Ophthalmology designates this live activity for a maximum of 7 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

    Attendees registered as exhibitors, spouses or guests are not eligible for CME credits.

    Find more information about CME.