Skip to main content
  • Recognizing Exceptional Colleagues for Their Service to Ophthalmology 

    The Laureate Recognition Award is the Academy's highest honor, recognizing individuals among our membership who have made seminal contributions to ophthalmology. During AAO 2017, Academy CEO David W. Parke II, MD, presented this year’s award to Irene H. Maumenee, MD. She is one of the world’s leading experts in genetic eye diseases and is unanimously regarded as the founder of genetics as an ophthalmic subspecialty in the United States.

    During AAO 2017, the Academy recognized its members for several types of achievements. These awards honor ophthalmologists in multiple stages of practice and for a range of activities, from humanitarian service to mentorship and faithful volunteer service.

    Howard C. Cohn, MD, and Stephen T. Petty, MD, received the 2017 Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award for their charitable contributions to ophthalmology. Both performed community service above and beyond the typical duties of an ophthalmologist.

    David A. Karcher received the 2017 Distinguished Service Award for his many years of service as the executive director of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery and for the impact he has had on the profession of ophthalmology.

    The Academy presented leadership from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention with the 2017 Special Recognition Award for leading a partnership to address the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine report and for working to create a national vision and eye health surveillance system.

    Gregory P. Kwasny, MD, received the 2017 Outstanding Advocate Award for his tireless advocacy-related efforts at both the state and federal levels to build relationships with legislators in support of ophthalmology.

    Sheila West, PhD, PharmD, received the 2017 International Blindness Prevention Award for her efforts to restore sight worldwide. Shahzad Mian, MD, received the 2017 Straatsma Award for excellence in resident education.

    Jeff H. Pettey, MD, nominated by both the Utah Ophthalmology Society and the John A. Moran Eye Center, received the 2017 Artemis Award for his dedication to the underserved in his local community and abroad.

    Mark J. Mannis, MD, received the 2017 EnergEYES Award for his outstanding mentorship, guidance and inspiration to young ophthalmologists.

    Academy Laureates

    The Laureate Award honors ophthalmologists who have made exceptional scientific contributions toward preventing blindness and restoring sight worldwide.

    2017 – Irene H. Maumenee, MD

    2016 – Matthew D. Davis, MD

    2015 – Bruce E. Spivey, MD

    2014 – Jerry A. Shields, MD

    2013 – Daniel M. Albert, MD, MHS

    2012 – Stephen J. Ryan, MD

    2011 – Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS