• Celebrating Contributions to Patients and the Profession 

    The Laureate Recognition Award is
    the Academy’s highest honor, recognizing
    individuals among our membership who
    have made seminal contributions to
    ophthalmology. The 2018 recipient was
    Steven T. Charles, MD (center-right), for his work as a leader of and catalyst for the incredible advances in vitreoretinal surgery since its introduction in the 1970s. Paul Sternberg Jr., MD, 2018 Academy President Keith D. Carter, MD, FACS, and Academy CEO David W. Parke II, MD (left to right), presented the award during AAO 2018.

    The Academy recognizes the outstanding contributions of our physician members. These honorees distinguished themselves by generating groundbreaking advancements that shape the way we care for patients.

    David Heiden, MD, and William L. White, MD, received the 2018 Outstanding Humanitarian Service Award for their charitable contributions to ophthalmology. Both performed community service above and beyond the typical duties of an ophthalmologist.

    The Directors of Medical Student Education in Ophthalmology received the 2018 Distinguished Service Award, which honors an individual or organization for ongoing notable service to ophthalmology and the Academy. These educators were recognized for their work in providing future physicians with the core knowledge and skills necessary to evaluate the visual systems. By doing so, they establish a strong ophthalmic foundation for medical students who do not specialize in ophthalmology.

    The Ophthalmology Section of the National Medical Association received the 2018 Special Recognition Award, presented to an individual or organization for outstanding service in a specific effort or cause that improves the quality of eye care. The association was honored for its commitment to improving the quality of health among minorities and disadvantaged people through its professional development, community health education, and partnerships with federal, academic and private agencies.

    Bradley C. Black, MD, received the 2018 Outstanding Advocate Award for developing collaborative relationships with groups who care for children’s vision.

    Jacob J. Pe’er, MD, received the 2018 International Blindness Prevention Award for his efforts to restore sight worldwide.

    The 2018 Straatsma Award, which honors an outstanding ophthalmology program director, was presented to Preston H. Blomquist, MD, for his commitment to resident education, active engagement in program leadership and devotion to teaching, mentoring and advising residents.

    For her dedication to serving the needs of the underserved throughout the world, Camila V. Ventura, MD, PhD, received the 2018 Artemis Award, which recognizes a young ophthalmologist for exemplary care and service to their patients.

    Julia A. Haller, MD, received the 2018 EnergEYES Award, which celebrates an ophthalmologist who mentors young physicians, serves as a strong role model and displays high energy that motivates engagement.

    Academy Laureates

    The Laureate Award honors ophthalmologists who have made exceptional scientific contributions toward preventing blindness and restoring sight worldwide.

    2018 – Steven T. Charles, MD

    2017 – Irene H. Maumenee, MD

    2016 – Matthew D. Davis, MD

    2015 – Bruce E. Spivey, MD

    2014 – Jerry A. Shields, MD

    2013 – Daniel M. Albert, MD, MHS

    2012 – Stephen J. Ryan, MD

    2011 – Alfred Sommer, MD, MHS