• Now Available: Check Your 2018 MIPS Performance Feedback and Final Score


    If you submitted 2018 Merit-Based Incentive Payment System data, you can now view your performance feedback and MIPS final score on the Quality Payment Program website. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services estimates that the bonus for a perfect 2018 MIPS final score is 1.68% of practitioners’ 2020 Medicare revenue. 

    The bonus percentage is subject to change depending on the number of practitioner appeals and how many are successful. 

    How to Get Your 2018 MIPS Final Scores and 2020 Payment Adjustments

    Final score and payment adjustment information is now available through the CMS portal for ophthalmologists who reported for MIPS for 2018. The Academy’s IRIS® Registry does not have access to your CMS MIPS final score or payment adjustment information. Your final score and payment adjustment are only available via the CMS portal.

    • The portal lets you view your MIPS final score and the payment adjustment that will be applied to all of your 2020 Medicare Part B service reimbursements. In addition to final score and payment adjustment information, final MIPS performance feedback will include:
      • Scores and performance details for Quality measures;
      • Scores and performance details for Promoting Interoperability measures
      • Scores for Improvement Activities
      • Scores and performance details for Cost measures
    • Log in to the portal. You will need to use or create an HCQIS Access Roles and Profile (HARP) account with CMS. Note that all users must now use two-factor identification, which may involve an automated phone call.
      • If you are a new user: Go to https://harp.qualitynet.org/register and complete the registration form to create an account.
        • Registration should take five to 15 minutes, according to CMS.
        • HARP uses a third-party service provided by Experian to verify user identities.
        • To complete account setup, users need to log into HARP and set up two-factor authentication.

    CMS instructional video

    Clinicians who bill in multiple groups (as identified by a Taxpayer Identification Number, or TIN) will have performance feedback for each practice under which they participated in MIPS. 

    Notice an error?

    • Let the Academy know at healthpolicy@aao.org.
    • You can submit a targeted review with CMS to dispute the error and ask for it to be fixed.
    • Targeted review requests must be submitted no later than Sept. 30 at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, 5 p.m. PT.
    • Submit it using the targeted review request form that can be accessed from your performance feedback page.
    • According to CMS, targeted review decisions are final, and there will be no further review. 

    CMS Targeted Review Fact Sheet (PDF, 93KB)