Skip to main content
  • The American Academy of Ophthalmology Foundation is pleased to announce Honor a Mentor—a new campaign to support our members’ passion for giving back to our profession. It’s an exciting way to honor a professor, colleague or advisor whom you admire and who has helped you in your career. Plus, you’ll be supporting the Academy’s mission to protect sight and empower lives.

    Learn How It Works

    The Academy Foundation is pleased to recognize the following donors (gifts of $1,000+) and their mentors who have participated in the program. View the Special Recognition page for donors who have contributed $5,000 or more.

    The following list includes the names of the donors (in bold) and the people who served as their mentors.

    Robert J. Barnes, MD
    Richard G. Gieser, MD

    George B. Bartley, MD
    Robert R. Waller, MD

    David F. Chang, MD
    Frank D. Berry, MD

    Claude L. Cowan Jr., MD
    Claude L. Cowan Sr., MD

    Michael H. Cunningham, MD
    Richard D. Cunningham, MD

    Eugene de Juan Jr., MD
    Stephen D. McLeod, MD

    Jane C. Edmond, MD

    Dan B. Jones, MD
    Paul P. Lee, MD, JD

    E. Trevor Elmquist, DO
    John W. Shore, MD

    Mansoor A. Farooqui, MD

    Dr. Sulaiman Al Habib

    Tamara R. Fountain, MD
    Richard L. Abbott, MD
    Susan H. Day, MD
    William L. Rich III, MD
    Bruce E. Spivey, MD
    George A. Williams. MD

    Christopher F. Gabriels, MD
    Firmin Forrest Gabriels, MD

    Robert M. Gilliam, MD

    Dan B. Jones, MD

    Debra A. Goldstein, MD
    Howard H. Tessler, MD

    David J. Harris Jr., MD

    David O. Mazur, MD

    William E. Holcomb, MD
    Lanning B. Kline, MD

    Cheryl L. Huey, MD
    Paul R. Lichter, MD

    Martine J. Jager, MD
    David W. Parke II, MD

    Judy E. Kim, MD
    Harry W. Flynn Jr., MD

    Geoffrey M. Kwitko, MD
    Frank A. Nesi, MD
    Thomas C. Spoor, MD

    Tom S. Maddox Jr., MD
    Richard A. Kielar, MD

    Barbara C. Marsh, MD
    Louis B. Cantor, MD

    Cathleen McCabe, MD

    Lisa B. Arbisser, MD

    Andrea Delia Molinari, MD 
    Eugene M. Helveston, MD

    Ron W. Pelton, MD, PhD
    Mara Pearse Burke
    Jim Lynch, JD
    Ralph E. Wesley, MD

    William L. Rich III, MD
    David W. Parke II, MD

    Robert A. Rubenstein, MD
    Harold Scheie and the Doctors at Scheie Eye Institute

    Victoria M. Sheffield
    Peter Y. Evans, MD

    Lawrence J. Singerman, MD
    Arnall Patz, MD

    Gregory L. Skuta, MD

    Douglas R. Anderson, MD

    Kent W. Small, MD
    W. Banks Anderson Jr., MD

    Judson P. Smith III, MD
    Joseph H. Calhoun, MD

    Gary A. Tanner, MD
    John E. Sutphin, MD 

    David N. Ugland, MD
    Dan B. Jones, MD

    Raymond Wee, MD

    Russell N. Van Gelder, MD, PhD

    Peter J. Whitted, MD
    Dan B. Jones, MD

    George A. Williams, MD

    Thomas M. Aaberg Sr., MD, MSPH
    Gary W. Abrams, MD
    Trexler M. Topping, MD
    William L. Rich III, MD
    Gregory P. Kwasny, MD

    Kenya M. Williams, MD 
    Tamara R. Fountain MD

    Yes, I want to honor my mentor!