• American Academy of Ophthalmology to Establish New Center for Quality Eye Care

    H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., M.D. Center to focus on promoting quality care

    SAN FRANCISCO—The American Academy of Ophthalmology Academy today announced the launch of the H. Dunbar Hoskins Jr., M.D. Center for Quality Eye Care, an evidence-based nonprofit quality-of-care and health policy research center located in San Francisco, along with the appointment of the Center’s first advisory board members. The Hoskins Center will conduct and support clinical care evaluations, develop patient care guidelines, establish national data registries, and collect and analyze data from clinical practices to help inform decision makers about the quality and effectiveness of eye care technologies and procedures. The Center is named for the Academy’s former executive vice president, who retired last March.

    “The Hoskins Center is a natural progression of the Academy’s commitment to educational excellence and quality of care,” said David W. Parke II, MD, the Academy’s CEO. “Because of his particular interest in quality of care, it is fitting that the Center be named for Dr. Hoskins. The Hoskins Center will extend his legacy of promoting the highest standards to meet ongoing patient and societal needs.” 

    Anne L. Coleman, MD, PhD has been named director of the Hoskins Center. She is the Fran and Ray Stark Professor of Ophthalmology at the UCLA Jules Stein Eye Institute, as well as a Professor of Epidemiology at UCLA’s School of Public Health. She also serves as Secretary of Quality of Care for the Academy.

    In addition, an advisory board comprised of distinguished clinician scientists and health policy experts will offer guidance to the Center. M. Roy Wilson, MD, MS, Chancellor of the University of Colorado, chairs the board. He holds elected memberships in the Institutes of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Ophthalmological Society, and the Glaucoma Research Society.

    The six additional members of the new advisory board are:

    • Janet M. Corrigan, PhD, MBA, President and CEO of The National Quality Forum, a private, not-for-profit standard setting organization;
    • Paul Ginsburg, PhD, President, Center for Studying Health System Change and a nationally recognized economist and health policy expert;
    • Paul Lee, MD, JD, Professor of Ophthalmology, Duke University School of Medicine and Senior Fellow at the Duke Center for Clinical Health Policy Research;
    • William Rich, III, MD, Academy Medical Director of Health Policy;
    • Alfred Sommer, MD, MPH, Dean Emeritus and Professor, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health and Professor of Ophthalmology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; and
    • Bruce Vladeck, PhD, Senior Advisor, Nexera Inc., a consulting subsidiary of the Greater New York Hospital Association.

    “The advisory board brings together around a single table some of this nation’s most thoughtful and innovative talents in regard to eye care and its interface with public health, health system design, and quality of care,” noted Dr. Parke. “They will help set scientific and funding priorities for the Center, designed to lead to better quality eye care and visual functioning.”

    The findings and output of the Hoskins Center will be disseminated through articles, lectures, educational resources and online at www.hoskinscenter.org

    About the American Academy of Ophthalmology
    The American Academy of Ophthalmology is the world's largest association of eye physicians and surgeons — Eye M.D.s — with more than 29,000 members worldwide. Eye health care is provided by the three “O’s” – opticians, optometrists and ophthalmologists. It is the ophthalmologist, or Eye M.D., who can treat it all: eye diseases and injuries, and perform eye surgery. To find an Eye M.D. in your area, visit the Academy's Web site at www.aao.org.