• Orbital Gala Attendees Crusading to Improve Eye Health

    Event Chair Ruth D. Williams, MD; special honoree Marilyn T. Miller, MD; and Foundation Advisory Board Chair Christie L. Morse, MD.

    THE FOUNDATION’S ANNUAL FUNDRAISER, the Orbital Gala, celebrated its 12th anniversary at AAO 2015 with a masquerade ball at the Wynn Las Vegas. Nearly 350 guests in festive masks enjoyed a reception, dinner, dancing and live entertainment. They also supported Academy programs with bids in the always-popular silent auction, which included ophthalmic equipment, travel experiences, designer fashion accessories and fine wine.

    Gala chairs Ruth D. Williams, MD, and Stephen C. Gieser, MD, MPH, hosted the event, which honored Marilyn T. Miller, MD, a distinguished pediatric ophthalmologist. Dr. Miller has dedicated more than 25 years to improving education and patient care in the developing world.

    The Orbital Gala has become the premier social event at the Academy’s annual meeting. Since its inception, the event has raised more than $1.8 million in support of the Academy’s educational, quality-of-care and service programs.

    Bibiana J. Reiser, MD, and her husband, Edwin Shackeroff, MD, supported Academy programs with panache when they attended the 12th annual Orbital Gala.

    Event Chairs
    Ruth D. Williams, MD
    Stephen C. Gieser, MD, MPH

    Host Committee
    Chris Albanis, MD
    Kathryn A. Colby, MD, PhD
    Sonal R. Farzavandi, FRCS
    Giovanni B. Marcon, MD
    William F. Mieler, MD
    Christie L. Morse, MD
    Joseph T. Nezgoda, MD, MBA
    Mildred M. G. Olivier, MD
    Purnima S. Patel, MD
    Lisa F. Rosenberg, MD
    Prem S. Subramanian, MD, PhD

    Corporate Supporters
    Abbott Medical Optics

    Haag-Streit Group

    Auction Donors
    Gulden Ophthalmics
    Haag-Streit Group
    Mobius Therapeutics
    TTI Medical

    Orbital Gala Contributors
    J. Bronwyn Bateman, MD
    Michael W. Brennan, MD
    Karla L. Campbell, MD
    Randolph L. Johnston, MD
    Russell N. Van Gelder, MD, PhD